Broncos land 11 on All-MAC squad

Published 8:40 am Friday, December 4, 2015

KALAMAZOO — Eleven Western Michigan football players were named to the 2015 All-Mid American Conference team on Wednesday.

The Broncos had three first-teamers, three second teamers and five third teamers. Jamauri Bogan had the most prestigious honor of the group, being named MAC Freshman of the Year, becoming the fourth straight Bronco to earn the award, the longest streak in conference history.

Bogan, a redshirt freshman led the Broncos rushing attack with 836 yards on 143 carries (5.8 avg.) and 12 touchdowns.  Against Eastern Michigan, Bogan became the first Bronco since 2002 to have four rushing TDs in a single game. He had a stretch of 11 TDs over five games. He becomes the second straight Bronco running back to earn MAC Freshman of the Year after Jarvion Franklin earned the award last year.

Earning first-team honors were Willie Beavers, Corey Davis and Daniel Braverman. Beavers recently accepted an invitation to the Reese’s Senior Bowl and received other invitations to the East-West Shrine Game and the NFL PA All-Star Game. He has started every game this season and was a second-team all-conference selection last year.

Second-team honors went to Darius Phillips both as a cornerback and kick returner, and cornerback Ronald Zamort. Phillips started off the 2015 season in grand fashion, with a 100-yard kick return for a touchdown in the season opener against No. 5 Michigan State. He has 32 kick returns on the year for 749, an average of 23.4 yards per return.

Third team honors went to quarterback Zach Terrell, offensive lineman Taylor Moton, kicker Andrew Haldeman, safety Asantay Brown and the aforementioned MAC Freshman of the Year, Bogan.