Dungey wins fifth straight event

Published 7:26 pm Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Trey Canard wins the second moto at RedBud on Saturday. Canard competed in the 250cc class. (Vigilant/Argus photo/AMELIO RODRIGUEZ)

Trey Canard wins the second moto at RedBud on Saturday. Canard competed in the 250cc class. (Vigilant/Argus photo/AMELIO RODRIGUEZ)


BUCHANAN – This time of year there are things that you come to expect: hot humid summer days, the smell of food cooking on the grill, the noise from fireworks in the sky, the sight of the Red, White and Blue of the American flag waving in the breeze, and the sounds of 25,000 people screaming “REDDDDDDDDDD BUUUUUDDDDDDD” at the top of their lungs.

There is one place where you can find all of those things happening on the Fourth of July weekend every summer, RedBud MX USA in Buchanan.

On Saturday, RedBud played host to the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship as fans saw riders from all over the world come together to compete on one of the best tracks in the country.

Normally there would be two champions on the day, the 450 class Champion, and the 250 class Champion, but this year, for the first time at RedBud, there would be a third champion, one from the WMX.

Women have been racing professionally for years, but this was the first time they were ever invited to participate to the RedBud track.

The day would get started with the 450cc class.  2010 season points leader Ryan Dungey would be the man with the target on his back coming into the day having won four consecutive events.

He would not disappoint the fans who were cheering him on as he took first in both of the motos and the overall for his fifth consecutive win.

Last season’s champion, Chad Reed finished with a pair of second place finishes for an overall second place, while Ben Townley would finish fourth and third for an overall third.

In the 250cc class, 2010 season points leader Christophe Pourcel of France would have the early target on his back when the gates dropped. Pourcel did hold on to win the first moto but he didn’t have the same success in the second moto finishing fifth for an overall third place on the day.

It was Trey Canard who would take the overall first with a fourth place finish in the first moto followed up with a first place finish in the second moto. Dean Wilson would finish in second place overall with third place finish in the first moto and a second place finish in the second.

In the women’s class, the rider to beat was Jessica Patterson or J.P. Money as she is called on the track.

She has been money on the track this year as she came to Red Bud sporting a perfect record on the season. Every time the gates have dropped for the ladies, Patterson has taken the checkered flag.

The defending ladies champion, Michigan native Ashley Fiolek, would have a lot to say about who would win Saturday’s overall. Fiolek would steal the hole-shot in the first moto and keep the lead for an easy first place finish.

In the second moto she would once again get the hole-shot, but she would have to fight off Patterson the whole race to take the overall No. 1, and be crowned the first women’s champion ever at Red Bud.

Patterson would finish the day with two second place finishes for an overall second place, while Tarah Geiger would finish third in both motos for a third place finish.

AMA Motocross results
Rockstar Energy
RedBud National
At Buchanan
450 Class (moto finish)

Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki (1-1); Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki (2-2); Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda (4-3); Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda (3-5); Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda (5-4); Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha (6-6); Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Honda (7-7), Ryan Sipes, Flaherty, Texas, Yamaha (8-8); Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM (10-9); Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Kawasaki (9-12)

Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 268; Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki, 204; Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda, 201; Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda, 189; Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 189, Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 182; Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM, 177; Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Honda, 122; Ryan Sipes, Flaherty, Texas, Yamaha, 114; Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 108

250 Class (moto finish)
Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda (4-1); Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki (3-2); Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki (1-5); Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda (5-3); Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda (6-4), Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki (2-11); Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha (7-6); Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki (11-7); Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Yamaha (10-8); Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (12-9)

Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki, 260; Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki, 227; Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki, 212; Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 205; Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha, 180; Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda, 176; Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 156; Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda, 145; Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Yamaha, 132; Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 129

WMX Class (moto finish)
Ashley Fiolek, St. Augustine, Fla., Honda (1-1); Jessica Patterson, Tallahassee, Fla., Yamaha (2-2); Tarah Gieger, Winter Gardens, Fla., Honda (3-3); Sara Price, Canyon Lake, Calif., Kawasaki (7-4); Mariana Balbi, Brazil, Yamaha (5-5); Sarah Whitmore, Cheboygan, Mich., KTM (6-6); Tatum Sik, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha (9-7); Alexah Pearson, Rocklin, Calif., Yamaha (8-8); Vicki Golden, El Cajon, Calif., Yamaha (4-15); Erica Cook, Natalia, Texas, Yamaha (10-9)

After 4 of 8 Rounds

Jessica Patterson, Tallahassee, Fla., Yamaha, 194; Ashley Fiolek, St. Augustine, Fla., Honda, 174; Tarah Gieger, Winter Gardens, Fla., Honda, 149; Vicki Golden, El Cajon, Calif., Yamaha, 121; Sara Price, Canyon Lake, Calif., Kawasaki, 120; Mariana Balbi, Brazil, Yamaha, 110; Sarah Whitmore, Cheboygan, Mich., KTM, 102; Alexah Pearson, Rocklin, Calif., Yamaha, 96; Tatum Sik, Temecula, Calif., Yamaha, 94; Erica Cook, Natalia, Texas, Yamaha, 84