PGA Championship begins Monday

Published 11:42 am Thursday, August 20, 2009

EAST LANSING – Scott Hebert will attempt to win his 4th consecutive Michigan PGA Championship at the Hawk Hollow Properties in East Lansing from Aug. 24-26.

Hebert has been the only winner since the event has been played on the Eagle Eye and Hawk Hollow golf courses starting in 2006.

“Scott is just a tremendous player,” Michigan PGA Executive Director, Kevin Helm said. “He’s been on quite a run winning the PGA National Championship in 2008 and qualifying for last week’s PGA Championship at Hazeltine Golf Club.”

Hebert is the 41-year old Golf Professional at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. Last month he won his first Boyne Tournament of Champions event after finishing in second place 5-times since 1999. He later missed the cut at the Buick Open last month by one stroke.

A total of 174 players will be in the field. The 54-hole event features a cut after the second round.

Players in the top 70 positions and ties will be vying for a piece of the $55,000 purse. The winner’s share is $7,000.

“We’re proud to host the championship and house the Michigan PGA Headquarters on our complex” Alex Coss, General Manager of Hawk Hollow Properties said. “PGA Professionals add so much to the game of golf on the consumer level. It’s a privilege to have them playing here and receiving such positive response to the quality of our courses.”

Past champions in the 2009 field include three-time winner Ken Allard of the Detroit Golf Club, two-time winners Brian Cairns from Fox Hills Golf Course, Steve Brady from Oakland Hills Country Club and Barry Redmond of Eagle Crest Golf Course. Other past champions include Gary Robinson of Foundation Learning Center, John Traub of TNT Enterprises. Tom Harding of Kendall Golf Academy, Joe Pollack of Boulder Creek Golf Club, Bob Makoski of Grosse Ile CC, and Larry Mancour who won this event in 1972.
The Michigan PGA Championship is open to the public. There is no admission charge. Players will be on both courses between 8am and 6pm the first two rounds. The final round is played at Eagle Eye starting at 8am and concluding around 2p.m.