Marcellus leads All-Southwest 10 Conference team

Published 10:01 am Wednesday, June 26, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

MARCELLUS — Undefeated Southwest 10 Conference baseball champion Marcellus led the all-league squad with four first-team selections.

The Wildcats, who completed an undefeated regular season before falling in the state tournament, had Abraham Coffey, Brock Buck, Cale Hackenberg and Cole Thornburgh named first-team by the Southwest 10 coaches.

Dawsen Lehew and Nathan Milhills were second-team selections, while Matthew Lehew and Brock McWilliams were named honorable mention.

Cassopolis’ Aide McGrew was the lone Ranger to earn first-team status.

Cassopolis did not have a second-team pick, but Gavin Anderson and Spencer Wagoner were honorable mention picks.



First Team

Abraham Coffey, Marcellus

Brock Buck, Marcellus

Cale Hackenberg, Marcellus

Cole Thornburgh, Marcellus

Brody Block, White Pigeon

Aiden McGrew, Cassopolis

Vinny Jines, Centreville

Matt Swanwick, Centreville

Tyler Baker, Comstock

Rowan Bradford, Decatur

Terry Rose, Decatur

Tanner Schugars, Decatur

Brody Johnson, Hartford

Ben McCaw, Lawrence


Second Team

Jaret McCoy, Bangor

Kobe Carpenter, Centreville

Cash Dentler, Centreville

Bo Riley, Centreville

Frank Conforti, Decatur

Zach Wiggins, Decatur

Tim Wimberley, Hartford

Dawsen Lehew, Marcellus

Nathan Mihills, Marcellus

Clayton Grandstaff, White Pigeon


Honorable Mention

Bangor: Jaiden Horvath, Eloy Martinez Jr.; Bloomingdale: Chayse Ciborski, Evan Jewet; Cassopolis: Gavin Anderson, Spencer Wagoner; Centreville: Evan Blair, Garrison Bunning; Comstock: Dominic Narwick, Brandon Smith; Decatur: Preston Horvath, Tyler Shindeldecker; Hartford: Jylin Backman, Alex Morsaw; Lawrence: Alexander Payment, Lucas Sinkler; Marcellus: Matthew Lehew, Brock McWilliams; White Pigeon: Devin Smith, Bristol Ultz