Vikings, Eddies land players on Wolverine first team

Published 5:17 pm Wednesday, April 3, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

NILES — The reward for winning its first Wolverine Conference championship in boys basketball was a trio of first-team selections for the Niles Vikings.

Ethan Chambliss, Brayden Favors and Mike Phillips were all first-team picks for the Vikings. Edwardsburg’s Brody Schimpa also was a first-team selection.

Second team honorees were Edwardsburg’s Matt Anders and Niles’ Brenden Olsen.

Edwardsburg’s Will Moore and Niles’ Darris Johhnson were honorable mention picks.

Niles’s Myles Busby was named Wolverine Conference Coach of the Year.

The Vikings won their first league title with a 13-1 record. Edwardsburg finished third with a 10-4 record.


All-Wolverine Conference

Boys Basketball

First Team

Brody Schimpa (Edwardsburg)

Ethan Chambliss (Niles)

Brayden Favors (Niles)

Mike Phillips (Niles)

Brevin Gabos (Otsego)

Blake Marks (Otsego)


Second Team

Matt Anders (Edwardsburg)

Brenden Olsen (Niles)

Nick Lopez (Otsego)

Truman Brennan (Paw Paw)

John Amaezechi (Plainwell)

Mitchell Beyer (Vicksburg)


Honorable Mention

Will Moore (Edwardsburg)

Darris Johnson (Niles)

Louis DiGrand (Otsego)

Aydn Roth (Paw Paw)

Chib Amaezechi (Plainwell)

Grady Miller (Sturgis)

Jace Gray (Three Rivers)

Carter Brown (Vicksburg)


Coach of the Year

Myles Busby (Niles)


Final Standings

Niles 13-1

Otsego 12-2

Edwardsburg 10-4

Plainwell 6-8

Vicksburg 6-8

Paw Paw 5-9

Sturgis 3-11

Three Rivers 1-13