Bobcats’ Schoff, Ward named All-Southwest Wrestlers of the Year

Published 11:45 am Sunday, March 10, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

NILES — The accolades keep coming in for the Brandywine wrestling team.

After bringing home a pair of state championships — one for the boys and one for the girls — the Bobcats received the top two awards for the All-Southwest Michigan Wrestling Team, which was announced Thursday.

The All-Southwest Michigan team is selected by the area coaches.

The Bobcats’ Gavin Schoff, the 157-pounds state champion, and Maddison Ward, the 170-pound state titlist were named the Wrestler of the Year.

Schoff shared the title with Bangor’s Zachary Hayes. He was 49-0 this season.

Ward is the first-ever Female Wrestler of the Year. She finished her junior season with a 37-1 record.

Brandywine also had Rex Pomranka named Coach of the Year.

Local wrestlers who were named to the first team were Dowagiac’ Israel Villegas (144) and Decatur’s Rowan Bradford (165).

Second team selections were Brandywine’s Kaiden Rieth (126), Buchanan’s Leland Payne (150), Decatur’s Carson Shugars (157), Niles’ Sam Rucker (175) Niles’ Jaime Gaya (215) and Dowagiac’s Cal Chapman (285).

Honorable mention selections are listed below.

Joining Ward on the first team were Buchanan’s Jordan Winslett (100), Edwardsburg’s Annika VanBuren (105), Marcellus’ Madisyn Harrison (125), Dowagiac’s Cinthia Villegas (130), Marcellus’ Memory Sylvester (155) and Marcellus’ Gabriella Allen (190).

Honorable mention selections are listed below.




106: Marcus Lowry, St. Joseph

113: Austin Garcia, Lawton

120: Brady Baker, Lakeshore

126: Cole Lausch, Lakeshore

132: Vernon Riggins, Lakeshore

138: Landon Thomas, St. Joseph

144: Israel Villegas, Dowagiac

150: Blake Holder, Lawton

157: Gavin Schoff, Brandywine

165: Rowan Bradford, Decatur

175: Gavin Turk, Paw Paw

190: Henry Beelen, Bangor

215: Austin George, Paw Paw

285: Zachary Hayes, Bangor



Rex Pomranka, Brandywine



106: Pilot Swab, Lakeshore

113: Matt Martel, Coloma

120: Joelan Coyer, Lakeshore

126: Kaiden Rieth, Brandywine

132: Jose Garcia, South Haven

138: Fernando Munoz, Bangor

144: Braedyn Barvo, Lakeshore

150: Lee Payne, Buchanan

157: Carson Shugars, Decatur

165: Andrew Byerle, Lakeshore

175: Sam Rucker, Niles

190: Jovany Raya, Eau Claire

215: Jaime Gaya, Niles

285: Cal Chapman, Dowagiac



106: Kolton Burns, Decatur; Ryker Rowland, South Haven; Markus Ottinger, Dowagiac; Holden Carrington, Buchanan

113: Joel Pena, Decatur; Anthony Munson, Dowagiac

120: Noah Dahlke, St. Joseph; Cooper Mabry, Buchanan; Roman Rodarte, Hartford

126: Evan Wilkes, St. Joseph; Talan Flowers, Decatur; Alejandro Saldana, Hartford; Luke Isbrecht, Watervliet

132: Jace Hopkins, St. Joseph; Brady Muha, Lakeshore; Angel Guzman-Valle, Eau Claire

138: Zayden Rowland, South Haven; Cam White, Dowagiac; Jacob Villegas, Dowagiac; Roman Alvarado, Eau Claire; Keegan Parsons, Edwardsburg

144: Gavin Keller, St. Joseph; Rylin Mead, Decatur

150: Brody Mead, Decatur; Mikey Yelding, South Haven; Keane Yanez, Eau Claire

157: Gunner Gale, Paw Paw; Andrew VanTuyl, Lawton

165: Brayden Sebasty, Buchanan; Aidan Fisher, Eau Claire; Dominic Hernandez, Paw Paw; Josh Patrolia, Brandywine

175: Zach Wiggins, Decatur; Riley Hess, Watervliet; Wyatt Korst, Marcellus; Max Rucker, Niles

190: Hayden Groth, Dowagiac; Lucas Zeiger, Buchanan; Fisher Edwards, Paw Paw; Julian Means-Flewellen, Niles

215: Ismael Pena, Decatur; Simon Hiatt, South Haven; Drew Andersen, Buchanan; Dean Roberts, Buchanan; Nate Irwin, Marcellus

285: Tanner Shugars, Decatur; Zavion Harrington, South Haven; Andrew McKee, Brandywine; Brock Woodhouse, Marcellus; Chase Brawley, Niles




100: Jordan Winslett, Buchanan

105: Annika VanBuren, Edwardsburg

110: Jocelyn Saucedo, South Haven

115: Kiera Howe, Watervliet

120: Taylor Woolett, Watervliet

125: Madisyn Harrison, Marcellus

130: Cinthia Villegas, Dowagiac

145: Maya Milletics, St. Joseph

155: Memory Sylvester, Marcellus

170: Maddison Ward, Brandywine

190: Gabriella Allen, Marcellus

235: Niomi Perez, Hartford



Holly Williams, Paw Paw



120: Evelyn Furst, Buchanan; Emily Thomas, South Haven; Brooke Evans, Marcellus

125: Layna Cardella, Marcellus; Shakyla Wesaw, Dowagiac

130: Anya Butler, Paw Paw

135: Aurie Trowbridge, Buchanan; Ava Cartwright, Coloma

140: Makayla McWilliams, Marcellus

145: Avery Scanlon, Buchanan

155: Hannah Kubisiak, Brandywine

170: Carlee Osborn, Marcellus

190: Angel Miller, Paw Paw; Ayana Marshall, Watervliet

235: Makenna Chadderdon, Buchanan; Cecilia Williams, Coloma