Roundup: Bobcats’ Ward, Chieftains’ Chapman bring home titles; Eddies win at Marcellus

Published 11:46 am Sunday, January 21, 2024

KALAMAZOO — Despite the challenges of the weather, area wrestlers were busy Saturday.

At the Ron Russo Classic in Kalamazoo, Brandywine’ Maddison Ward picked up another championship, while in Jim Mooney Williamston Classic, Dowagiac’s Cal Chapman also brought home gold.


Russo Classic

After receiving an opening round bye, Ward pinned her final two opponents to capture the 170-pound title.

In the semifinals, Ward pinned Kiersten Dehaan, of Caledonia, in 1:22. In the title match, Ward pinned Kingsley’s Adalene Chambers in 1:48.

The Bobcats’ Hannah Kubisiak was the runner-up at 155-pounds.

Kubisiak won her first match by forfeit. She dropped her second-round match, but bounced back with another forfeit win before pinning Katelyn Fox, of Schoolcraft, in 4:49 to claim the runner-up spot.


Williamston Classic

Chapman pinned his way to the finals where he met Clinton’s Manza Rafferty. Chapman blanked Rafferty 4-0 for the championship.

In reaching the finals he pinned Southgate Anderson’s Bobby Poore (1:31), pinned Fowlerville’s Jacob Esch (1:31) and pinned Eaton Rapids’ Dylan Powell (1:27).

The Chieftains had just seven wrestlers compete in the tournament, while it also sent a team to the Marcellus Invitational.

At Williamston, Israel Villegas went 3-1 to finish third at 144-pounds, while Hayden Grosh was fourth at 190 and AJ Munson sixth at 113.


Marcellus Invitational

Edwardsburg won the team championship with 207.5 points, while Decatur was the runner-up with 183.5 points. Dowagiac finished eighth (80.5) and Cassopolis 11th (35).

Braden Lundgren was the Eddies’ lone champion as he captured the 144-pound championship.

Caden Manfred (126), Keegan Parsons (138), Hudson Fields (150) and Brandon Lundgren (215) all placed second for Edwardsburg. Taking third were Brady Halfman (113), Dawson Goorhouse (15), Cale Myers (165) and Gabe Smith (190).

Finishing fourth were Nathan Whalen (144) and Carson Eaton (175).

Jacob Villegas was Dowagiac’s only champion as he won the 138-pound title.

Finishing third for the Chieftains were Carlitos Chavez (106), Nicholas Green (120) and David Nichols (215).

Cassopolis had a couple of placers as Brandon Hemminger was the runner-up at 113-pounds and Alan Wegner finished third at 175-pounds.