Dowagiac sweeps Brandywine, Bucks

Published 1:27 pm Thursday, January 11, 2024

BUCHANAN — The Dowagiac wrestling team took its first step toward winning Lakeland Conference championship by defeating defending champion Brandywine and host Buchanan Wednesday night.

The Chieftains swept the league quad by beating the Bobcats 64-18 and the Bucks 60-18.

Dowagiac will host the next quad as Berrien Springs, Buchanan and Brandywine will compete on Wednesday. Wrestling is scheduled to begin at 6 p.m.

Dowagiac can lock up the regular season championship with a win over the Shamrocks.

A short-handed Brandywine gave up seven forfeits to the Chieftains, who earned 42 points off of those wins. Dowagiac also picked up three pins and a major decision to account for its total.

Winning via pin for the Chieftains were Israel Villegas at 157-pound as he stuck the Bobcats’ Agustin Gonzalez Torres in 15 seconds, Isiah Hill at 215-pounds as he stuck Logan Zigler in 1:03 and Cal Chapman at 285-pounds as he stuck Andrew McKee in 1:11.

Winning by major decision (four points) was Dowagiac’s Cameron White, who defeated Kaden Santana 14-0.

Earning wins by forfeit were Markus Ottinger (106), Carlitos Chavez (113), AJ Munson (120), Nicholas Green (126), Peyton Williamson (144), Jacob Villegas (150) and Hayden Groth (190).

The Bobcats earned victories at 132-pounds when Kaiden Rieth pinned Cody White in 1:19; at 165-pounds when Gavin Schoff pinned Jeremiah Harggreaves in 35 seconds and Josh Patrolia pinned Timothy Masterman in 1:14 at 175-pounds.

Against Buchanan, Dowagiac received forfeits at 113-pounds (Munson), 144-pounds (Enrique Bravo) and 165-pounds (Weski Wesaw).

The Chieftains finished the match with seven pins.

Green pinned Camden Stover in 55 seconds at 126, Cody White pinned John Keser in 25 seconds at 132, Cameron White pinned Wyatt Riggs in 1:52 at 138, Jacob Villegas pinned Avery Scanlon in 1:39 at 144, Israel Villegas pinned Leland Payne in 3:15 at 150, Hill pinned Timothy Andersen in 5:34 at 215 and Chapman pinned Dean Roberts in 5:50 at 285.

Earning wins for the Bucks were Holden Carrington, who edged Ottinger 4-2 at 106, Cooper Mabry, who won by forfeit at 120, Brayden Sebasty, who pinned Masterman in 1:46 at 175 and Lucas Zeiger, who blanked Groth 6-0 at 190.