Dodd earns first-team All-Southwest 10

CASSOPOLIS — Southwest 10 Conference champion Mendon dominated the all-conference volleyball team with four players on the first team and eight players honored overall.

The Hornets were led by Anna Smith, who was named captain of the team.

Cassopolis had five players earn all-conference honors, led by first-team selection Zaniya Dodd. Gabby Rowan and Jadin Wolfe were second-team selections, while Taylor Herwick and Ryli Burks were named honorable mention.

Marcellus’ Rachel Mihills and Emma Holmes were named to the honorable mention portion of the squad.


First Team

  • Anna Smith, Mendon

Alexis Ames, Mendon

Andrea Hoffman, Mendon

Izzy Smith, Mendon

Rainie Atherton, White Pigeon

Olivia Kuiper, Bangor

Amara Littlefield, Bangor

Zaniya Dodd, Cassopolis

Isabella Kessler, Centreville

Kate Miles, Centreville

Grace Nighswonger, Centreville

Sarah Stauffer, Centreville

  • Captain


Second Team

Kaitlyn Kite, Bangor

Gabby Rowan, Cassopolis

Jadin Wolfe, Cassopolis

Savannah Miller, Centreville

Gwen Grosvenor, Decatur

Makenna Cupp, Mendon

Payton Griffith, Mendon

Zinnia Hartwick, White Pigeon


Honorable Mention

Bangor: Abby Moench, Cloe Hull; Bloomingdale: Allison Starbuck, Aquinnah Kelly; Cassopolis: Taylor Herwick, Ryli Burks; Centerville: Kamryn Troyer, Danielle Stauffer; Decatur: Lauren Ogrin, Morgan Hall; Hartford: Alexis Snodgrass, Khashya McCoy; Marcellus: Rachel Mihills, Emma Holmes; Mendon: Ryley Mullin, Caylena Briggs; White Pigeon Lauren Dressler

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Michigan reports 540,115 cases, 13,865 deaths


LEE celebrates MLK Day with virtual event

Cass County

Cass County Probate Court urges public to prepare for vaccination of incapacitated family members


Southwest Michigan wineries adapt to continued mandates

Brandywine Education

MEC accepting scholarship applications

Cass County

Bonine House to honor COVID-19 victims with light ceremony


Organizers call Hunter Ice ‘non-festival’ a success

Berrien County

Short notice of MDHHS orders creates hurdle for southwest Michigan restaurants

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Cass County reports new COVID-19 deaths

Berrien County

LMC awards inaugural Spirit of MLK Spotlight honors


Dowagiac Police Log: Jan. 13-17

Berrien County

Now is the Time” Martin Luther King Jr. celebration week begins at LMC


SMC trustees give president positive first performance review


Niles Police Log: Jan. 7-13

Berrien County

Blossomtime extends pageant season

Berrien County

Niles restaurant receives community support for refusing to close indoor dining

Cass County

Teen dead following US-12 crash


PHOTO STORY: Ice sculptures draw visitors to downtown Niles


Dowagiac resident marks centennial birthday

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Michigan reports 533,602 cases, 13,701 deaths


Woman of color to lead DUS board


Cassopolis organization to host virtual MLK Jr. Day celebration

Berrien County

Community partners come together for Martin Luther King Jr. Day


Dr. T.K. Lawless International Dark Sky Park releases 2021 stargazing schedule