Cass County local election results

CASS COUNTY — Listed below are the unofficial election results from Cass County’s contested 2020 General election races. Names marked with a * won their race.

School board elections, along with state-wide and national races, will be posted separately.


Cass County Drain Commissioner:

  • Jeff VanBelle, 16,253 votes*
  • Tony Catanzarite, 8,438 votes


Cass County Commissioner, District 1:

  • Ryan Layline, 2,338 votes*
  • Julie Dye, 1,142 votes


Cass County Commissioner, District 2:

  • Dixie Ann File, 2,362 votes*
  • Ron McAdam, 869 votes


Cass County Commissioner, District 5:

  • Robert Benjamin, 2,606 votes*
  • Dean Hill, 1,186 votes*


Cass County Commissioner, District 6:

  • Michael Grice, 2,196 votes*
  • Michael Dimino, 1,181 votes


Cass County Commissioner, District 7:

  • Jeremiah Jones, 1,650 votes*
  • Ron Reeves, 1,510 votes


Calvin Township Trustee (two open seats):

  • Keith Carter, 623 votes*
  • Rebecca Mitchell, 388 votes*
  • Timothy Williams, 240 votes


LaGrange Township Trustee (two open seats):

  • Paul File, 803 votes*
  • John Juroff, 776 votes*
  • Priscilla Gatties, 668 votes


Marcellus Township Supervisor:

  • Edwards Koshar, 842 votes*
  • Ronald Kish, 342 votes


Marcellus Township Trustee (two open seats):

  • Matthew Schick, 756 votes*
  • Donald Hess Jr., 663 votes*
  • Sarah Porath, 488 votes
  • Cheyenne Wilmers, 315 votes


Ontwa Township Trustee (four open seats):

  • Jeff Kozinski, 2,216 votes*
  • Meryl Christensen, 2,186 votes*
  • Dawn Bolock, 2,164 votes*
  • Dan Stutsman, 2,020 votes*
  • Victor Gutierrez-Schultz, 1,046 votes
  • Karen Crelling, 1,003 votes


Silver Creek Township Supervisor:

  • Bill Saunders, 1,152 votes*
  • Larry Seurynck, 375 votes


Volinia Township Supervisor:

  • Lawrence Davis, 327 votes*
  • Chris Brooks, 102 votes
  • Alex Williams, 95 votes
  • Jeff Conklinn, 50 votes


Village of Cassopolis Trustee, four-year term (three open seats):

  • Kimberle Danzy Yeager, 315 votes*
  • Stefon Luckey, 271 votes*
  • Frank Williams, 270 votes*
  • Eugene Wagner, 171 votes
  • Jim Bronke, 113 votes


Village of Marcellus President:

  • Christine Sziede, 221 votes*
  • Ronald Welburn, 171 votes


Village of Marcellus Trustee (two open seats):

  • Tony Breseman, 247 votes*
  • Ryan Jackson, 210 votes*
  • James Thomas, Sr., 147 votes
  • Muriel Oswalt, 146 votes
  • Michael Nelson, 129 votes



Ontwa Township Edwardsburg Police Log: Feb. 15-22


SMC graduate experiences Super Bowl


Dowagiac women aim to create change through local government


SMC COVID task force leader talks with Dowagiac Rotary Club


Niles roller rink reopens following legal battle

Berrien County

Michigan Works! announces community wide survey to learn about COVID-19’s impact

Cass County

Cass County prepares to adjust to criminal justice reforms

Berrien County

Michiana Family Center seeks mentors for foster teens


Nobo Michigan opens Edwardsburg location


Businesses battle over land use in Cassopolis’ Industrial Park


Dowagiac Police Log: Feb. 19-24

Berrien County

Mount Calvary Baptist to host COVID-19 vaccination clinic March 5

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Berrien County reports new COVID-19 death

Berrien County

Berrien County Health Department, Spectrum Health Lakeland give vaccination updates

Cass County

Applications open for Cass County Sheriff’s Community Scholarship

Berrien County

Berrien County commissioners send message to state on regionalizing COVID-19 approach

Cass County

Lewis Cass ISD to host superintendent interviews Monday

Cass County

Michigan Works! to open office in Cass County administration building


Dollar General, marijuana microbusiness, Iron Shoe expansion coming to Niles


Silver Creek Township Planning Commission tables short-term rental ordinance draft vote


New SOS online, self-service options coming soon


Niles restaurant week to showcase 18 restaurants

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Michigan reports 583,964 cases, 15,405 deaths

Cass County

Cass County GOP censures Congressman Fred Upton for vote against Marjorie Taylor Greene