Bobcats dominate All-Red Division

NILES — Champion Brandywine dominated the BCS Athletic Conference All-Red Division girls basketball team.

The Bobcats placed five players on the first team, including Most Valuable Player Zakiyyah Abdullah. Also named first-team were Kennedy Byrd, Megan Schmidt, Alexis Rhodes and Malikiyyah Abdullah.

All are seniors with the exception of Malikiyyah Abdullah, who is a junior.

Buchanan had three players earn first-team all-division. They were freshman Faith Carson, sophomore Hailey Jonatzke and sophomore Claire Lietz.

The remaining member was Hillary Dortch, a senior from Berrien Springs.

Honorable mention selections were Emma Lozmack (Sr.) Buchanan, Kym’meisha Ellis-Davis (Sr.) Berrien Springs, Taneya

Shivers (So.) Berrien Springs, Macy Cannon (Jr.) Comstock, Brionna Tiffany (Jr.) Comstock, Talea LaVanway (Sr.) Bridgman, Olivia Tomlin (So.) Bridgman, Rachel Maxey (So.) Parchment and Kasey Leckie (So.) Parchment.

All-White Division

Led by Most Valuable Player Mara Rugen, Michigan Lutheran and New Buffalo led the All-White Division first team with three players each.

Joining Rugen were Titan teammates Jessi Jewell and Rebekah Hisle. Abby Harris, Mary Mayer and Abigail Vitale represented the Bisons.

The remaining members were Lucio Rico and Emma Springer of River Valley, Maggie Tidey and Emily Lage of Lake Michigan Catholic, along with Kaylee Stroud of Lawrence.

Honorable mention selections were Maria Rush (Sr.) Michigan Lutheran, Aaron James (So.) New Buffalo, Hailey Hauch (Jr.) River Valley, Savannah Peek (So.) Lawrence and Carolyn Deneau (Jr.) Countryside.