Dowagiac’s Elmore wins district championship

Published 9:24 am Monday, February 11, 2019

DOWAGIAC — It was a solid weekend for area wrestlers as they switched from team competition to the Michigan High School Athletic Association individual district tournaments.

Overall, wrestlers from Brandywine, Buchanan, Cassopolis, Dowagiac, Edwardsburg and Niles brought home nine district championships.

The Vikings led the way with six individual champions and 12 regional qualifiers in Division 2.

Dowagiac senior Dylan Elmore (43-4) was the lone Division 3 district champion as he won by forfeit over Josh Sunnerville (44-2) of Otsego in the 119-pound title match at Constantine High School.

Also advancing to the regionals next week for the Chieftains were Jordan Simpson (34-12), who was third at 103 pounds, Tyler Huston (29-12), who was third at 112 pounds, Nick Turnbow (8-5), who finished second at 152 pounds, Lamberto Paredes (32-10), who was third at 160 pounds, Mike Schlup (23-16), who was third at 189 pound and Wyatt Bailey (30-10), who was second at 285 pounds.

Buchanan advanced a trio of wrestlers to the regionals as Hunter Weinberg (29-11), Jackson Mix (27-14) and Mason Colglazier (28-8) all finished in fourth place.

The regional will be hosted by Williamston on Saturday.

Dowagiac now shifts gears again and resets it focus on Wednesday’s Division 3 team regional at Coloma High School.

The Chieftains will face BCS Athletic Conference champion Comstock in the opening round at 6 p.m.

Otsego will wrestle Coloma in the other semifinal at 6 p.m. The championship match is set for 10 minutes after the completion of the last semifinal.

Dowagiac already owns a pair of wins over Coloma, while it defeated Comstock 55-24 without several starters in its line up earlier this year.

The Chieftains have not wrestled Wolverine Conference foe Otsego head-to-head, but saw the Bulldogs at the league tournament two weeks ago.

“I my mind, we can put 50 or 60 points on everybody we wrestle,” said Dowagiac coach Colin Burandt. “Anything can happen. There are always upsets. But I think we match up with them. It is just a matter of surviving and advancing. Those teams are going to bring it. We have to be ready.”

Division 2

Winning individual championships for the Vikings were Jamison Zimmerman (31-4) at 103, Javond Ball (31-7) at 135, Kade Wagley (33-7) at 140, Cade Best (30-7) at 171, Dawson Bruckner (34-7) at 189 and Brian Soto (27-4) at 285.

Also advancing for the Vikings were runners-up Bryce Brust (15-3), Robert Buckland (31-10) and Kenny Krempetz (15-9).

Cole Simpson (31-0) and Tysen Custard (22-12) were third-place finishers, while Skylar Mans (17-12) finished fourth.

Edwardsburg advanced six wrestlers to the Division 2 regional at Vicksburg.

Jackson Hoovear (37-34), Jacob Reece (26-8), Michael Tatay (23-10) and Cade Reece (33-6) were all runners-up at Lakeshore High School on Saturday.

Dillion Hurst (32-8) was third and Drew Bidwell (27-11) was fourth.

Division 4

Brandywine’s Hunter Heath and Cassopolis’ Dylan Green were individual champions at Lawton on Saturday in the Division 4 individual districts.

Heath (44-2) was one of four Bobcats to advance to the Division 4 regional at Hudson on Saturday.

Joining Heath were Mathew Cox (38-11) and Steven Kendall (35-13), who were both third, and Ben KcKee (25-19), who finished fourth.

Green (34-3) defeated teammate Gage Collins (29-7) to win the district championship at 171 pounds.

Also qualifying for the Rangers were Galen Stahl (20-15) and William Westphal (28-6) who finished third and fourth respectively.