Local winners competing in districts Saturday

DOWAGIAC — Kyle Frazier, Ashton Maleski, Josh Winchester-Jones, Olivia McIntosh, Bree Behnke and Sienna Potter were winners at the annual Dowagiac Elks Hoop Shoot held in early December.

A total of 22 boys and girls participated in the annual free throw shooting contest.

Each contestant shot 25 free throws with the winning being the person to make the most shots.

The winners will compete this Saturday in the district competition held in St. Joseph.


Age division results

Boys 8-9

1. Kyle Frazier, 2. Aiden Martin, 3. Adam Eckman

Boys 10-11

1. Ashton Maleski, 2. Anthony Benitez, 3. Austin Hart and Parker Stout

Boys 12-13

1. Josh Winchester-Jones, 2. Elijah Stout, 3. Seth Sapp and Max Stelmasiak

Girls 8-9

1. Olivia McIntosh

Girls 10-11

1. Bree Behnke, 2. Charleigh Reed, 3. Ava Nate

Girls 12-13

1. Sienna Potter

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Berrien County reports three new COVID-19 deaths


Patrick Hamilton Elementary School closes for three days due to COVID-19


Don, Joan Lyons donate $28,000 to Dowagiac Union Schools


Registration open for YMCA’s 39th annual Thanksgiving Day Run


Dowagiac schools receive positive audit


Niles Township passes sewage increase


Four Flags Antique Mall acquires new owners


14th annual Sandhill Crane All Trail Race draws record numbers

Cass County

Woman in stable condition following Sunday shooting

Cass County

Suspect pleads guilty in Dowagiac murder case

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: COVID-19 cases continue to rise in southwest Michigan

Cass County

Lewis Cass ISD Parents as Teachers program receives national recognition


Sister Lakes Brewing Company hosts Dewey Lake Monster conference


Chili cook-off benefited displaced veterans through chow, competition and charity

Cass County

Cass County seeks volunteers for boards, committees

Berrien County

Operation Safe Stop runs this week

Cass County

Woman shot in Calvin Township, suspect arrested in Goshen


Cassopolis Middle School student tests positive for COVID-19

Berrien County

Buchanan Township man hospitalized following Friday evening stabbing


Dowagiac District Library launches new programs


Young Professionals of Greater Dowagiac to host fifth annual mommy, son event


Rotary ready to volunteer at Sandhill Crane Run

Berrien County

YMCA of Greater Michiana opens full day childcare at Northside Child Development Center


Fall hiking tour planned at Madeline Bertrand County Park