Village, school board officials decided in Cass, Edwardsburg

Published 12:32 pm Thursday, November 8, 2018

CASS COUNTY — With all precincts reporting, 20,346 Cass County voters cast ballots in Tuesday’s midterm election — 50.1 percent of those registered in Cass County.

Incumbents in every Cass County district retained seats on the board of commissioners, with the exception of the fifth district, in which Robert W. Benjamin narrowly defeated incumbent Robert Ziliak in the primary election in August. The vote was originally deemed a tie, but after a recount, Benjamin took the Republican nomination into the November election. With no Democrat running for the seat, Benjamin automatically moved onto the board of commissioners.

Commissioners reelected to the board include Terry Ausra, Dixie Ann File, Dwight “Skip” Dyes, Roseann Marchetti, Michael Grice and E. Clark Cobb.

Contested races included District 2, in which File defeated Ron McAdam, and District 7, in which Cobb defeated Leon “Andy” Anderson.

David L. Johnson, who ran uncontested for Cassopolis Village president, secured the seat.

According to unofficial results, Katherine Hazzard Yoder, Mitchell Conner and Geraldine N. Simms secured seats on the Cassopolis village council. Robert Ray Collins II and Travis Conner also ran for the seats.

In Edwardsburg, Jacque Tighe, Laura Hughes, Terry L. Bidwell and Kellen J. Van Hulle were elected to serve on the village council, according to unofficial results. Jay Randall Penny also ran for the seat.

Becky Anson, Tammy Niemlier and Tony Overmyer were elected to serve on the school board for Edwardsburg Public Schools. Bill Rauch also ran for the position.

Visit for more results and comments candidates.