Dowagiac’s Bravo named first-team

DOWAGIAC — Wolverine Conference champion Plainwell and runner-up Paw Paw dominated the all-conference first-team, which was released recently.

The two teams finished with a combined seven players, while Otsego finished with three players on the first team.

The Bulldogs finished tied with Sturgis for third place.

Dowagiac had Edgar Bravo earn first-team all-conference honors, as did Edwardsburg’s Athony Castellucci.

Second-team picks for the Chieftains were Jose Carillo and Adrian Lee, while Victor Zavala was an honorable mention selection.

Edwardsburg’s Ben Kraus and Gabe Wiese were second-team selections. Nate Blessinger earned honorable mention status.

Paw Paw’s Steven McLaughlin was named Coach of the Year.




Matt TerAvest, Allegan

Edgar Bravo, Dowagiac

Anthony Castellucci, Edwardsburg

Jayden Dentler, Otsego

Josh Loll, Otsego

Cole Sallee, Otsego

Justin Boven, Paw Paw

Jacob Broadwater, Paw Paw

Lucas Collins, Plainwell

Sean McLaughlin, Paw Paw

Devin Nelson, Plainwell

Nick Tiller, Plainwell

Jario Arias, Sturgis

Derek Veenstra, Three Rivers

Coach of the Year

Steven McLaughlin, Paw Paw


Kaleb Smith, Allegan

Jose Carillo, Dowagiac

Ardian Lee, Dowagiac

Ben Kraus, Edwardsburg

Gabe Wiese, Edwardsburg

Coleton Hutchinson, Otsego

Ryan Brennan, Paw Paw

Noah Gledhill, Paw Paw

Nickolai Emde, Plainwell

Lucas Kalavitz, Plainwell

Jacob Leeger, Plainwell

Andrew Lunarde, Plainwell

Haly Estrada, Sturgis

Chris Gonzalez, Sturgis

Joe Brady, Vicksburg

Honorable mention

Zach TeAvest, Allegan

Victor Zavala, Dowagiac

Nate Bessinger, Edwardsburg

Brady Flanders, Paw Paw

Sam Wood, Paw Paw

Sam Scalpone, Plainwell

David Shearer, Plainwell

Oliver Hernadez, South Haven

Chase Webb, South Haven

Alan Castro, Sturgis

Jose Juan Garcia, Sturgis

Dan Foura, Three Rivers

Max Tidey, Vicksburg


Niles native calls for photography submissions


Video shows altercation at flag football game in Niles

Breaking News

Fire contained at former Niles Inn

Brandywine Education

Former Brandywine teacher charged with accosting a minor for immoral purposes, use of a computer to commit a felony

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Berrien County reports two COVID-19 deaths

Berrien County

4-H announces alumni, supporters walking challenge


Ballard Elementary, Niles High School to remain remote through end of the week


Niles real estate agent named Realtor of the Year


Evergreen Road special assessment district created

Cass County

Cass County millages on the ballot for May 4


Dowagiac announces March students of the month


Local provisioning centers celebrate cannabis holiday with sales, overcome software snags

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Michigan reports 799,140 cases, 16,986 deaths


DUS to install classroom phones in elementary schools, high school

Berrien County

Berrien County 4-H Leaders Association sets annual meeting


DUS Board of Education honors Class of 2021 Top 10


Buchanan HCU member center lands new leadership

Berrien County

United Way of Southwest Michigan invites community to honor leaders during National Volunteer Week


Buchanan provisioning center raises money to fight cannabis injustices

Cass County

Cass County Sheriff’s Office K9 finds home invasion, larceny suspect

Berrien County

UPDATE: Sheriff’s office finds missing Niles man

Brandywine Education

Teacher resigns after allegedly soliciting 14-year-old

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Michigan reports 793,881 cases, 16,901 deaths


Cassopolis to welcome first marijuana dispensary