French win fifth straight MXoN title

Published 9:07 am Tuesday, October 9, 2018

BUCHANAN — For the fifth consecutive year, Team France captured the Peter Chamberlain Award as champion of the Motocross of Nations.

The biggest motocross race to be held on American soil saw huge crowds flock to RedBud MX despite poor weather conditions and tons of mud.

Trailing Australia heading into the final moto, Team France was able to defend its championship due in large part to its captain, Gautier Paulin.

“It is an incredible feeling to win the MXoN with Team France for a fifth time in a row,” he said. “I really have no words to describe how happy I am. Conditions were far from ideal during the whole weekend here at Red Bud, but we made things work to our advantage. I gave my best in both motos and kept pushing until the very end. A special thanks to all the members of my Rockstar Energy Husqvarna team. Winning this trophy with Team France is the best way to wrap up a long season.”

France finished just two points ahead of Team Italy.

The Netherlands finished third, while Team USA was a disappointing sixth.

The Netherlands dominated the top spots as individual riders with Jeffrey Herlings, Calvin Vlaanderen and Glenn Coldenhoff.

“Me and Glenn did a great job,” Herlings said. “I won my first moto, and he went 1-1. We deserved to win, and it was a shame we didn’t get the results with our MX2 rider. We were so close, but Team France were the best today, and we should respect that. We had a great weekend and some great days here. I’m happy to finish off the season. Next year, it will be at Assen and home soil, and if Glenn has the same breakfast and we get another result, then we can definitely go for the win. It has been a good day.”

Australia was the leader heading into the final moto, but ended up finishing fourth.

Jorge Prado of Team Spain captured the Ricky Carmichael Award as the best young driver at the MXoN. Hunter Lawrence of Team Australia was the 2017 winner of that award.