Edwardsburg lands pair on All-Wolverine first team

Published 9:43 am Monday, March 13, 2017

Wolverine Conference champion Edwardsburg placed all five starters on the All-Wolverine Conference girls basketball team.

Senior Savannah Dixon and sophomore Kaitlyn Zarycki were first team selections, while senior Brayden Curtis was a second team pick.

Senior Noelle Kraus and junior Alexa Markel were both named to the honorable mention portion of the squad.

Edwardsburg’s Jon Pobuda was named Wolverine Conference Coach of the Year.

Dowagiac had a pair of players named to the honorable mention portion of the squad as senior Taylor Hulett and Amiyah Smith were selected on a vote by the league coaches.

Zarycki averaged 15.3 points per game with 5.9 rebounds, 3.4 steals and 2.5 assists.

Dixon averaged 12.7 points per game with 2.5 rebounds, 2.1 steals and 1.8 assists.

Smith averaged 13 points per game and scored 18 or more points in the final give games of the season for the Chieftains. She also averaged 5.6 rebounds and 1.2 steals.

Hulett averaged 10 points per game with 5.8 rebounds, 2.0 assists and 1.3 blocks.


All-Wolverine Conference

First team

Leslie Scane, Allegan

Savannah Dixon, Edwardsburg

Kaitlyn Zarycki, Edwardsburg

Liz Barwegen, Otsego

Erica Drobny, Otsego

Mattison Raymond, Otsego

Sara White, Plainwell

Layna Steele, Vicksburg


Second team

Kara Bishop, Allegan

Brayden Curtis, Edwardsburg

Jaycie Callaway, Otsego

Hannah Warner, Paw Paw

Haley Hawkes, Plainwell

Frances Lyons, South Haven

Harmony Groves, Sturgis

Hadley Miller, Three Rivers


Honorable mention

Taylor Hulett, Dowagiac

Amiyah Smith, Dowagiac

Noelle Kraus, Edwardsburg

Alexa Markel, Edwardsburg

Sophie Monroe, Plainwell

DeAshia Sanders, Sturgis

Arionne Fowlkes, Three Rivers

Kennedy Nabozny, Vicksburg


Coach of the Year

Jon Pobuda, Edwardsburg