Brandywine wins fourth straight tennis championship

Published 12:05 pm Wednesday, May 18, 2016

STEVENSVILLE — For the fourth straight season and the ninth time in the last 12 years, Brandywine is the undisputed BCS Athletic Conference tennis champion.

The Bobcats won four individual flight championships on their way to scoring 55 points.

Berrien Springs was the runner-up with 49 points, while Buchanan finished fourth with 37 points.

Individual champions for Brandywine were Emily Erwin at No. 2 singles, Rachael Szilagyi and Alyssa Bolen at No. 1 doubles, Libby Moody and Shelby Fortune at No. 2 doubles, as well as Olivia Whitney and Lauren Srmek at No. 4 doubles.

“Just a great team effort by all eight flights as they all won their opening matches to set the tone for the day,” Brandywine coach Joe Marazita said. “We lost seven starters from last year so to be able to repeat shows how hard the kids worked and great senior leadership. This group has been great to work with and this win should give us confidence heading into regionals on Thursday.”



At Bridgman

Team scores

1. Brandywine 55; 2. Berrien Springs 49; 3. Comstock 38; 4. Buchanan 37; 5. Bridgman 36; 6. Lake Michigan Catholic 34; 7. Bronson 25; 8. New Buffalo 14.


Championship flight


1. Marissa Jaggi (BS) d. Shaylee Smith (BW), 6-3, 6-0; 2. Emily Erwin (BW) d. Taylor Anthony (BU), 6-3, 6-2; 3. Taylor Wells (C) d. Abbey Steffey (BG), N/A; 4. Lissa Weaver (C) d. Camille Bauer (BG), 4-6, 6-1, 6-4.



1. Rachael Szilagyi-Alyssa Bolen (BW) d. Callie Stoub-Ramsden Holets (BS), 6-2, 6-1; 2. Libby Moody-Shelby Fortune (BW) d. Lauren Osborn-Addie Peters (LMC), 3-6, 6-1, 6-1; 3. Dana Ives-Mary Ellen Nuter (LMC) d. Lilly Jillson-Meagan Dietrich (BS), 6-3, 6-4; 4. Olivia Whitney-Lauren Srmek (BW) d. Ebony Mwesigwa-Antoinette Cave (BS), 3-6, 6-2, 6-2.


Consolation flight


1. Grace Miles (C) d. Becca Stemm (BU), 1-6, 7-5, 7-5; 2. Brenna Wineland (BS) d. Gabby Badger (BG), 6-0, 6-0; 3. Kieran Baginske (BU) d. Rachel Riffel (BW), 6-2, 6-2; 4. Claire Mayes (BR) d. Elizabeth Hertz (BW), 6-1, 6-1.



1. Mary Ellen Nuter-Lauren Osborn (LMC) d. Morgan Dobbins-Kennedy Melton (BR) 6-1, 6-4; 2. Celeste Golland-Yerington (BR) d. Sydney Hildebrandt-Brittany Gardiner (BU) 6-3, 6-3; 3. Sidney Melton-Raegan Yerington (BR) d. Ciarra Hardy-Morgan Hoard (BRO) 6-3, 6-1; 4. Abby Cowles-Tessa Durocher (BU) d. Elizabeth Smith-Shelby Souva (BRO) 6-2, 6-1.


Regular season dual record

Brandywine 6-0-1

Berrien Springs 5-0-2

Comstock 4-2-1

Buchanan 4-2-1

Bridgman 2-4-1

Bronson 2-5

Lake Michigan Catholic 2-5

New Buffalo 0-7


Overall standings

Brandywine 16, Berrien Springs 14, Comstock 11.5, Buchanan 10.5, Bridgman 8, Lake Michigan Catholic 5.5, Bronson 4.5, New Buffalo 2.


First team All-BCS

Marrisa Jaggi (BS), Emily Erwin (BW), Taylor Wells (CO), Lissa Weaver (CO), Rachael Szilagyi (BW), Alyssa Bolen (BW), Libby Moody (BW), Shelby Fortune (BW), Dana Ives (LMC), Mary Ellen Nuter (LMC), Olivia Whitney (BW), Lauren Srmek (BW).


Honorable mention

Shaylee Smith (BW), Taylor Anthony (BU), Abbey Steffey (BR), Camille Bauer (BR), Callie Stoub (BS), Ramsden Holets (BS), Lauren Osborn (LMC), Addie Peters (LMC), Lilly Jillson (BS), Meagan Dietrich (BS), Ebony Mwesigwa (BS), Antoinette Cave (BS).