Senate honors southwest Michigan shooting victims

Published 11:02 am Thursday, February 25, 2016

(Submitted photo)

(Submitted photo)

LANSING — Sen. John Proos, R-St. Joseph, joined fellow state senators Mike Nofs, R-Battle Creek; Margaret O’Brien, R-Portage; and Tonya Schuitmaker, R-Mattawan, on Tuesday to honor the victims of shootings that took place in the Kalamazoo area last Saturday.

The senators offered thoughts and prayers for the victims, who were all southwest Michigan residents: Tiana Carruthers of Richland Township; Rich and Tyler Smith of Mattawan; Mary Jo Nye, Dorothy Brown, Barbara Hawthorne and Abigail Kopf of Battle Creek; Mary Lou Nye of Baroda; and to their families as they cope with the unconscionable tragedy.

The Senate then paused for a moment of silence to honor the victims and their families.