Niles, Edwardsburg combine for six district titles

Published 8:08 am Sunday, February 14, 2016

Blake Parsons was one of three Edwardsburg wrestlers to win district titles Saturday. (Leader file photo/AMELIO RODRIGUEZ)

Blake Parsons was one of three Edwardsburg wrestlers to win district titles Saturday. (Leader file photo/AMELIO RODRIGUEZ)

VICKSBURG — Even though both the Edwardsburg and Niles wrestlers were knocked out of team districts on Wednesday, they had the opportunity to get one more chance at continuing their individual seasons at the Division 2 Individual Districts at Vicksburg Saturday.

That chance happened, as 11 Niles and seven Edwardsburg wrestlers were in the top four of their respective weight classes and will move on to the Division 2 Individual Regional Finals in Eaton Rapids next Saturday.

Paving the way for the Vikings were district championships by Brenden Hall (130), Mitchell Findeisen (135) and Quintin Smith (145).

Andrew Flick (112) lost a 13-4 decision to Lakeshore’s undefeated sophomore Austin Franco and received second. Courtland Lamberton (140), Devonte Gaskill (152) and Jason Echeverria (285) also got finished second.

Cade Stephenson (119) finished third and Dayton Smith (171) finished fourth.

Viking wrestlers Braulio Sosa and Sam Soto faced off in the third place consolation at 215, with Soto taking third place.

Three-time state placer Michael Higley of Edwardsburg continued to add three more wins (two by pin) to his career total as he coasted to a district title at 119. He now has 182 wins.

Blake Parsons (189) and Hunter Vargo (125) also won district championships.

Parsons won by a 5-4 decision over Sturgis’ Cole Campbell. Vargo won a 6-4 decision over Tony Williams of Lakeshore.

Joe Hess (171) took second place, Lucas Marks (145) and Austin Cline (160) finished in third place and Jacob Andrina (152) earned a fourth place finish.



At Vicksburg

Championship Finals

103: Francisco Lemus (Battle Creek Harper Creek) d. Dawen McClish (Mattawan) 10-4; 112: Austin Franco (Lakeshore) m.d. over Andrew Flick (Niles) 13-4; 119: Michael Higley (Edwardsburg) p. Peter Deaton (Mattawan) 1:04; 125: Hunter Vargo (Edwardsburg) d. Tony Williams (Lakeshore) 6-4 (OT); 130: Brenden Hall (Niles) p. Mitch Coon (Battle Creek Harper Creek) :33; 135: Mitch Findeisen (Niles) d. Nate Sisler (Battle Creek Harper Creek) 4-0; 140: Noah Gleason (Sturgis) d. Courtland Lamberton (Niles) 7-6; 145: Quintin Smith (Niles) p. Cody Carlisle (Lakeshore) 4:32; 152: Dilon Striplin (Battle Creek Harper Creek) p. Devonte Gaskill 5:32; 160: Luke Carver (Sturgis) p. Jesse Miller (Coldwater) 1:11; 171: Sam DeMeester (Coldwater) p. Joey Hess (Edwardsburg) 4:45; 189: Blake Parsons (Edwardsburg) d. Cole Campbell (Sturgis) 5-4 (OT); 215: Anthony Neal (Sturgis) d. Isaac Weir (Lakeshore) 9-7; 285: Jake Stevens (Sturgis) p. Jason Echeverria (Niles) 1:46.


Consolation finals

103: Nolen Bornamann (Battle Creek Harper Creek) d. Noah Booton (Marshall) 11-4; 112: Kurtis Babcock (Battle Creek Harper Creek) p. Terry Vette (Battle Creek Harper Creek) 2:43; 119: Cade Stephenson (NIles) d. Dakota Trimm (Battle Creek Harper Creek) 6-3; 125: Chris Morrill (Three Rivers) p. Ethan Bishop (Battle Creek Harper Creek) 1:51; 130: Jaycob Herpin (Battle Creek Harper Creek) d. Peter Harris (Battle Creek Harper Creek) 5-1; 135: Jacob Kelly (St. Joseph) d. Daniel Rodriguez (Gull Lake) 4-1; 140: Hunter Peri (Battle Creek Harper Creek d. Robert Dente (Lakeshore), injury default; 145: Lucas Marks (Edwardsburg) d. Koehl Meek (Sturgis) 2-0 (OT); 152: Carter Hall (St. Joseph) d. Jacob Andrina (Edwardsburg) 5-2; 160: Austin Cline (Edwardsburg) d. Ray Atkins (Mattawan) 8-2; 171: Brandon Crum (Battle Creek Harper Creek) d. Dayton Smith (Niles) 3-1; 189: Tyler Hill (Lakeshore) d. Carlos Parks (Battle Creek Harper Creek) 6-1; 215: Sam Soto (Niles) d. Braulio Sosa (Niles) 5-3; 285: Bryce Robinson (Lakeshore) p. Owen Miller (Marshall) 2:24.