Sophomores recognized for academic excellence

Published 11:12 am Thursday, February 4, 2016

(Leader photo/TED YOAKUM)

(Leader photo/TED YOAKUM)

The Dowagiac Union High School’s Youth Experiencing Success program honored yet another group of diligent students Tuesday.

The school recognized 40 sophomores who earned all A’s or B’s in their classes during the first semester of the 2015-16 school year during the ceremony that morning. In addition to handing out certificates in honor of the students’ achievements, the program threw a pizza party for the assembled 10th-graders, with food provided by Saylor’s Pizza.

This was the 12th ceremony hosted by the YES program, which has recognized the accomplishments of 463 students for their outstanding performance since April 2013. This was also the third time that Saylor’s has partnered with the high school to honor local students.

Recognized Tuesday were:

Joseph Beaver

Madison Bjork

Lindsey Bogen

Zachary Brown

Matthew Bryant

Madelyn Casey

Karlie Checkley

Lilith Craft

Brenden Dudley

Nicholas File

Taylore Froehlich

Nicholas Hackworth

Alexis Hale

Lewis Hartsig

Kristian Horton

Ethan Hunt

Zechary Huston

Gavin Luthringer

Justin Lyle

Alexandra Martin

Kiel Miracle

Christopher Moreno Badillo

Diana Moreno

Cosima Mueller

Caleb Murphy

Christine Pacheco

Andrea Payne

Natalie Planck

William Preston

Kylee Price

Tonya Roberts

Alec Saylor

Haley Soderbloom

Sophia Stockwell

Logan Thies

Elizabeth Turczi

Drew Vaickus

Emily Wagner

Kody Walker

Caleb Weller Wolfe