Berrien County joins effort to help Flint

In the midst of the truly tragic water crisis in Flint, it is encouraging to see so many people in southwest Michigan who are willing to help.

Schools, businesses and churches in Berrien County have joined countless others across the country in providing support for the thousands of Flint residents who have been affected by living with a lead-tainted water supply.

It is impossible to imagine what the Flint parents are going through knowing their young children have been exposed to a substance that could result serious and long-term consequences for their health and development.

Anything we can do to ease the path toward recovery for these families is worth the effort.

Over the past few days, we have listed collection events designed to provide Flint families with support in the form of donations of bottled water.

Below is a list of current and upcoming events in case you missed them.

We thank everyone who has helped already and encourage everyone with the means to contribute to do so.


Berrien RESA/First Student bottled water collection (now through Feb. 12)

• First Student Transportation Center, 4333 E. Shawnee Road, Berrien Springs. Collection hours: 6 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday-Friday

• Berrien RESA’s Administrative Center, 711 St. Joseph Ave., Berrien Springs. Collection hours: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday

• Blossomland Learning Center, 711 St, Joseph Ave., Berrien Springs. Collection hours: 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Monday-Friday

• Lighthouse Education Center, 379 Glenlord Road, St. Joseph. Collection hours: 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Monday-Friday


Niles Philadelphia Church/YMCA bottled water collection

• 2 to 7 p.m. Feb. 18, 19 at 33332 US-12 in Niles

• 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Feb. 20 at 33332 US-12 in Niles


Niles Relevant Church/Mt. Calvary Baptist Church bottled water collection

• Sunday, Feb. 7 at Niles Relevant Church, 801 N. 17th St., Niles

• Sunday, Feb. 7 at Mt. Calvary Baptist Church, 601 Ferry St., Niles


Opinions expressed are those of the editorial board consisting of Publisher Michael Caldwell and editors Ambrosia Neldon, Craig Haupert, Ted Yoakum and Scott Novak.



Round Oak’s impact on Dowagiac still felt 60 years later


Young Professionals of Greater Dowagiac reach fundraising requirements for Russom Park Pavilion Project


Rotarian Walter Swann discusses life, community outreach

Cass County

Three Rivers man sentenced to probation for meth possession

Cass County

Edwardsburg man sentenced to one year for assault

Cass County

Cass County hosting workshop about child abuse prevention

Berrien County

Spectrum Health Lakeland revises visitor guidelines

Berrien County

Gov. Whitmer asks residents to take COVID-19 precautions, high schools to suspend in-person activities


Cassopolis couple working to get musical nonprofit off the ground

Berrien County

Berrien County commissioners approve 911 grant


Edwardsburg/Ontwa Township Police Log: March 29 to April 5

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Michigan reports 723,297 cases, 16,400 deaths

Cass County

Cass County 4-H offering painting program

Berrien County

Johnson and Johnson vaccine clinic to be hosted at Niles-Buchanan YMCA

Berrien County

Gov. Whitmer, MDHHS encourage spring break travelers to get tested for COVID-19

Berrien County

Reduce, Reuse, Recycle Day taking place next week at LMC campus


Dowagiac District Library hosting poetry contest


Edwardsburg chamber fundraising to donate personalized tumblers to graduating seniors


Niles DDA takes on NODE expenses

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Michigan reports 715,478 cases, 16,327 deaths

Berrien County

Niles man hospitalized after motorcycle, SUV crash


Dowagiac Police Log: April 2-4


State approves Niles social district


Bureau of Land Management to offer wild horses, burros for adoption, sale at Cassopolis event