Niles wins fourth straight Greater Berrien County Invitational

Published 2:38 pm Sunday, January 31, 2016

The Niles wrestling team captured its fourth straight Greater Berrien County Invitational at St. Joseph Saturday. (Submitted photo)

The Niles wrestling team captured its fourth straight Greater Berrien County Invitational at St. Joseph Saturday. (Submitted photo)

ST. JOSEPH — Niles is once again the king of area wrestling.

The Vikings won their fourth straight Greater Berrien County Invitational as it easily outdistanced runner-up Lakeshore at St. Joseph High School Saturday.

The Vikings, who had four individual champions, finished with 242 points. The Lancers, who had three champions, finished with 212.5 points.

Edwardsburg was third (165.5), Dowagiac fourth (139), Brandywine sixth (82), Cassopolis 10th (68) and Buchanan 11th (62).

Niles’ championships game in four consecutive weight classes as Brenden Hall (130), Mitch Findeisen (135), Courtland Lamberton (140) and Quintin Smith (145) picked up victories.

Hall, Findeisen and Smith were defending champions.

The Vikings and Lancers were match up several times over the next two weeks.

They will square off in a SMAC West Division match Wednesday in Stevensville and then at the SMAC Championships at Mattawan Saturday.

Niles and Lakeshore are also at the Edwardsburg team districts Feb. 10.

A complete box score is available online at


Greater Berrien County Invitational

At St. Joseph

Team Scores

1. Niles 242, 2. Lakeshore 212.5, 3. Edwardsburg 165.5, 4. Dowagiac 139, 5. Berrien Springs 89, 6. Brandywine 82, 7. Watervliet 80.5, 8. (tie) St. Joseph and Lawton 72, 10. Cassopolis 68, 11. Buchanan 62, 12. New Buffalo/Bridgman 37.5, 13. South Haven 37, 14. Coloma 31, 15. River Valley 18, 16. Benton Harbor 13, 17. Eau Claire 6.


Championship Round

103: Nick Baldwin (Lawton) p. Kody Walker (Dowagiac) 5:42; 112: Austin Franco (Lakeshore) m.d. Andrew Flick (Niles) 16-6; 119: Michael Higley (Edwardsburg) m.d. Gage Williams (Dowagiac) 11-2; 125: Tony Williams (Lakeshore) d. Hunter Vargo (Edwardsburg) 8-6; 130; Brenden Hall (Niles) p. Kaci Lintz (Brandywine) :23; 135: Mitch Findeisen (Niles) d. Jesse Lochmondy (Brandywine) 8-4; 140: Courtland Lamberton (Niles) p. Nathan Tackitt (Dowagiac) 5:26; 145: Quintin Smith (Niles) m.d. Lucas Marks (Edwardsburg) 11-1; 152: Carter Hall (St. Joseph) p. Ryan Rush (Lakeshore) 5:38; 160: Austin Cline (Edwardsburg) d. Michael Nuyen (Dowagiac) 16-13; 171: Joe Hess (Edwardsburg) d. Sam Burge (Brandywine) 7-1; 189: Blake Parsons (Edwardsburg) m.d. Austin Green (Cassopolis) 11-3; 215: Isaac Weir (Lakeshore) d. Braulio Sosa (Niles) 4-3; 285: Jason Craig (Lawton) d. David Curl (Watervliet) 4-1.


Consolation Round

103: Isaac Meyer (St. Joseph) d. Austin Whitman (Lakeshore) 3-2; 112: Garret Cleveland (Berrien Springs) d. Dylan Amm (Lawton) 5-0; 119: Cade Stephenson (Niles) d. Michael Kachur (Brandywine) 7-2; 125: Ramiro Williams (Berrien Springs) p. Reese Jones (Watervliet) 1:26; 130: Adam Eger (Buchanan) d. Martiece Wright (South Haven) 6-3; 135: Jacob Kelly (St. Joseph) p. Dillon Richey (Cassopolis) 2:20; 140: Jake Speck (Watervliet) d. Nathan Paholik (New Buffalo/Bridgman) 4-0; 145: Cody Carlisle (Lakeshore) p. Alec Austin (Lakeshore) 1:55; 152: Mason Hiler (Dowagiac) d. Kristian Hertsel (Brandywine) 6-3; 160: Davin Simpson (Niles) d. Anthony Adkins (Coloma) 2-1; 171: Dayton Smith (Niles) m.d. Seth Fear (Dowagiac) 10-2; 189: Tyler Hill (Lakeshore) p. Timmy Eising (Berrien Springs) :59; 215: Sam Soto (Niles) d. Gage Wells (Berrien Springs) 14-10; 285: Robert Barringer (South Haven) p. Tyrique Moore (Berrien Springs) :27.