Edwardsburg, Dowagiac coaches honored

Published 6:15 am Thursday, December 10, 2015

Dowagiac’s Danum Hunt and former Chieftain softball coach Randy Brooks were among the coaches honored at the annual Wolverine Conference Banquet at Western Michigan University Nov. 18.

Hunt was honored as the boys basketball Coach of the Year for the West Division, while Dan Klein of Plainwell was honored as the East Division Coach of the Year.

Brooks, who coaches softball at Edwardsburg, was the West Division Coach of the Year.

Edwardsburg’s A.J. Gaideski was the West Division Coach of the Year in baseball, while Kevin Bartz was the Wolverine Coach of the Year in football and Brett Harring in girls soccer.

Tom Bishop, who coaches baseball, wrestling and football at Allegan; Shawn McGuire, who coached basketball and cross country at Vicksburg; and Harley Pierce, who coached basketball, football and tennis at Plainwell, were honored with the Wolverine Conference Distinguished Service Award.


Wolverine Conference

Coach of the Year Awards

2014-15 Winter

Boys basketball: Danum Hunt (Dowagiac), Dan Klein (Plainwell)

Girls basketball: Tim Rieman (Plainwell)

Boys bowling: Don Lamb (Allegan)

Girls bowling: Carley Trainor (Coloma)

Competitive cheer: Tracy Derhammer (Plainwell)

Wrestling: Murray Rose (Allegan)

2015 Spring

Baseball: A.J. Gaideski (Edwardsburg), Brian Deal (Vicksburg)

Boys golf: Matt Rayman (Otsego)

Girls soccer: Brett Harring (Edwardsburg), John Connor (Paw Paw), Steve Brzezinski (South Haven), Michael Moldovan (Vicksburg)

Softball: Randy Brooks (Edwardsburg), Paul Gephart (Vicksburg)

Girls tennis: Jennifer Aldrich (Allegan)

Boys track: Simon Cholometes, Ken Mills (Sturgis)

Girls track: Sue Oesterle (Vicksburg)

2015 Fall

Boys cross country: Steve Long (Otsego)

Girls cross country: Steve Long (Otsego)

Football: Kevin Bartz (Edwardsburg)

Girls golf: Steve Angle (Allegan)

Boys soccer: Garry Snyder (Plainwell)

Boys tennis: Gary Ellis (Allegan)

Volleyball: Danielle Littel (Paw Paw)