Dowagiac, Berrien Springs win Little Spikers titles

Published 10:42 am Monday, November 30, 2015

Dowagiac captured the third and fourth grade division championship of the Krush Little Spikers League Saturday.

The third and fourth grade division consisted of 22 teams, including four from Dowagiac.

Also competing in the division were teams from Niles, St. Joseph, Brandywine, Berrien Springs and Mishawaka.

Dowagiac defeated a pair of teams to capture the championship.

In its first match, Dowagiac defeated another Dowagiac team, which was coached by Christine Potter and Les Cross, 25-17, 23-25 and 15-9.

In the championship match, Dowagiac defeated the Niles Krush team 25-8 and 25-13.

The Potter and Cross team worked its way through the consolation bracket to finish third.

The championship team consisted of Danni Purlee, Emerson Kruger, Morgan Gadeski, Ashyla Washington, Aubrey Busby, Brenna Mott, Abbey Dobberstein and Amya Jones. The ball girl/mascot was Kai Kruger.

The team was coached by Andy Kruger and Jason Mott.

Berrien Springs captured the fifth and sixth grade division.

That team consisted of Jailyn Harris, Breean Thomas, Caitlyn Tucker, Kadence Brummitt, coach Julie Elliott, Mallorie Griffiths, Sarah Davey, Olivia Elliott, Maggie Griffiths and coach Tami Wreggelsworth.

A total of 44 teams competed in the season-ending tournament at the Krush Volleyball Club courts located at 1720 Terminal Road in Niles.

Also competing were teams from Cassopolis, Bridgman and Lakeshore, while Krush teams had players from Buchanan, Edwardsburg, River Valley and South Bend.