Edwardsburg third at Wolverine Conference Tennis Tournament

Published 12:22 pm Monday, October 5, 2015

The Edwardsburg tennis team finished third at the Wolverine Conference Tournament Saturday.

Allegan won its 27th conference championship as it edged Sturgis 75-72. Edwardsburg finished with 56 points.

Dowagiac was 10th with 16 points.

The Eddies’ No. 2 doubles team of Ke’von Taylor and Dylan Layher finished second.



Team Scores

Allegan 75, Sturgis 72, Edwardsburg 56, Vicksburg 50, Paw Paw 47, Otsego 46, Plainell 33, Three Rivers 23, South Haven 17, Dowagiac 16


Flight Champions


1. Luke Ford (O) d. Seth Miller; 2. Matt Polzin (S) d. Brandon Day (A), 3. Kersten Heyer (S) d. Alex Babbitt (A), 4. Kody Harrington (A) d. Hersh Vakaria (S)



1. Rielly Meade-Jack Sturman (A) d. Lucas Schupbach-Connor Welling (PP), 2. Thomas Voglewede (A) d. Ke’von Taylor-Dylan Layher (E), 3. Jared Krug-Ethan Hill (A) d. Matt Belote-Scott Smith (S). 4. Armen Idriss-Logan Andrews (S) d. Zac Sisson-Zeke Carter (A)


Consolation Flights


1. Brody Carns (A) d. Bryce O’Neill (V), 2. Jacoby Kanaby (E) d. Logan Thorne (PL), 3. Ryan Rogers (E) d. John Hughes (V), 4. Daniel Gwin (V) d. Austin Hurt (E)



1. Ryan Shuler-Dylan Kunce (S) d. Solomon Korringa (O), 2. Caleb Fort-Connor Seifer (V) d. Joey Wynes-Zach Perry (S), 3. David Heidema-Drew Miller (PP) d. Layne Tinkham-Ryhan Pabreza (E), 4. Tom Mackling-Alex Shellhammer (E) d. Ben Hulst-Ben VanRoekel (PP)


Final Standings

South Division

Sturgis 4-0

Edwardsburg 2-1-1

Vicksburg 2-1-1

Three Rivers 1-3

Dowagiac 0-4


North Division

Allegan 4-0

Otsego 3-1

Paw Paw 2-2

Plainwell 1-3

South Haven 0-4


Coach of the Year

Gary Ellis, Allegan