Eddies, Cass dominate in soccer

Published 9:50 am Sunday, July 3, 2011

Cassopolis's Jessica Waldschmidt was one of four Rangers named to the All-Lakeland Conference squad. (Vigilant/Argus Photo/File)

Cassopolis's Jessica Waldschmidt was one of four Rangers named to the All-Lakeland Conference squad. (Vigilant/Argus Photo/File)

Defending Lakeland Conference champion Edwardsburg placed four players on the all-league squad, while runner-up Cassopolis had four players and its coach selected to the first team.

Named first team all-conference for the Eddies were Macy Stevenson, Jennifer Sporleder, Shannon Schalk and Ally McIntee.

The Rangers had Bjargey Olafsson, Meagan Ruff, Jessica Waldschmidt and Molly Moroz selected by the coaches.

Oli Olaffson was named Coach of the Year.

Brandywine’s Morgan Smallwood was a first team selection, as was Buchanan’s Morgan French. Coloma’s Rachel Tallman was the other member of the first team.

Second team selections for the Eddies were Paige Szlanfucht, Brekelle Wiedenmannott and Haylie Stevenson. Cassopolis’ Jocelyn Transou and Hannah Ayers were second team picks, as was Brandywine’s Samantha Low and Carlie Newman.

Ashlety Luzadre and Ashlyn Pastrick were named to the second team from Buchanan.

Jennifer Stickle and Anna Bosler of Cassopolis, along with Edwardsburg’s Kristine Handy, Liz Huff and Sophie Devenney were all honorable mention selections.

All-Lakeland Conference Soccer

First team

Morgan Smallwood, Brandywine

Morgan French, Buchanan

Bjargey Olafsson, Cassopolis

Meagan Ruff, Cassopolis

Jessica Waldschmidt, Cassopolis

Rachel Tallman, Coloma

Macy Stevenson, Edwardsburg

Jennifer Sporleder, Edwardsburg

Shannon Schalk, Edwardsburg

Ally McIntee, Edwardsburg

Keeper: Molly Moroz, Cassopolis

Coach of the Year

Oli Olafsson, Cassopolis

Second team

Samantha Low, Brandywine

Brittany Doehrer, Bridgman

Ashley Luzadre, Buchanan

Ashlyn Pastrick, Buchanan

Jocelyn Transou, Cassopolis

Hannah Ayers, Cassopolis

Meghan Guntz, Coloma

Paige Szlanfucht, Edwardsburg

Brekelle Wiedenmannot, Edwardsburg

Haylie Stevenson, Edwardsburg

Keeper: Carlie Newman, Brandywine

Honorable metion

Elle Barschdorf, Bridgman; Jennifer Stickle, Anna Bosler, Cassopolis; Jennifer Rauner, Katelyn Tavolacci, Coloma; Kristine Handy, Liz Huff, Sophie Devenney, Edwardsburg

Finals standings

Edwardsburg 9-0-1

Cassopolis 8-1-1

Coloma 4-4-2

Brandywine 3-6-1

Buchanan 2-7-1

Bridgman 1-9-0