Eddies Lakeland tennis champs

Published 7:25 am Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Brandywine’s Jessy Cooper stretched for a shot during her No. 3 doubles match against Buchanan on Monday in the Lakeland Conference Tennis Tournament. Cooper paired with Rachel Gipson to win the championship. Edwardsburg won the league title for the second straight year. (Daily Star photo/SCOTT NOVAK)

EDWARDSBURG — Part two of the Lakeland Conference Tennis Tournament was played under extremely windy and cool conditions Monday afternoon at Edwardsburg High School.

The tournament originally began on Friday at Leeper Park in South Bend, Ind., but was suspended when thunderstorms rolled through the area in the late afternoon.

Edwardsburg entered the tournament with a 5-0-1 regular season record and needed to only finish second to claim the outright conference championship for the second straight year.

The Eddies didn’t get the victory they wanted in the conference tournament on Monday, but Edwardsburg tied with Buchanan with 47 points and claimed the championship.

The Bucks, who were 4-1-1 in the regular season, edged Brandywine (4-0-2) for second place by half a point in the overall standings.

“Definitely a surprise,” Edwardsburg coach Kim Bartz, who lost eight players from last year’s championship team, said. “We have such a young team. I have high expectations for them and they came through. I’m just really pleased with their effort and their hard work.”

Veteran Buchanan coach Cuppy Mace was also pleased with the outcome. She, like Bartz, had a lot of new faces in the line-up this season and really enjoyed watching her squad come together and put forth a great effort at the league tournament.

“It’s phenomenal,” she said. “No one had us even being third, let alone taking second outright or tying for first today in the tournament.”

Several conference championships were decided on Friday before the inclement weather set in.

Berrien Springs freshman Arien Kissinger defeated Edwardsburg’s Alex Watts 6-2 and 6-3 to claim the No. 1 singles title.

The Eddies picked up the No. 4 singles crown when Tory Treat defeated Buchanan’s Ally Cornwell 6-3 and 6-4.

The lone doubles championship to be decided on Friday was at No. 1 where Brandywine’s Lauren Leonard and Kesley Prestley defeated Edwardsburg’s Jamie Richardson and Alyssa Nasco 6-2 and 6-3. Leonard claimed her fourth league doubles championship, while for Prestly it was the third straight title.

On Monday, the Eddies’ Hayley Jones defeated Buchanan’s Nash Hughes 3-6, 6-4 and 6-3 to claim the only unfinished singles match.

Brandywine won two of the three remaining doubles matches.

Jessy Cooper and Rachel Gipson defeated Buchanan’s Audrey Funk and Kelsey Patrick 3-6, 6-3 and 6-4 to claim the third flights, while Taylor Mattiford and Alissa Gamble won the fourth flight over Edwardsburg’s Madison Hatkevich and Andrea Wagoner 5-7, 6-2 and 6-4.

Buchanan’s Maddie Higgins and Dana Dowell claimed the No. 3 doubles crown on Monday despite not having to play. Higgins and Dowell defeated Bridgman’s Noelle Maelvitis and Adrianna Worden by injury default, 6-0 and 2-2.

Edwardsburg’s Kim Bartz was voted Coach of the Year by her peers.

Lakeland Conference

Tennis Tournament

Team scores

1. Edwardsburg, 2. Buchanan 47, 3. Brandywine 44, 4. Berrien Springs 33, 5. Bridgman 23, 6. Coloma 18, 7. Cassopolis 11

Regular Season standings

1. Edwardsburg 5-0-1, 2. Brandywine 4-0-2, 3. Buchanan 4-1-1, 4. Berrien Springs 3-3, 5. Coloma 2-4, 6. Bridgman 1-5, 7. Cassopolis 0-6

Final overall standings

1. Edwardsburg, 2. Buchanan, 3. Brandywine, 4. Berrien Springs, 5 Bridgman 7, Coloma, 7. Cassopolis

Championship flights


1. Arien Kissinger (BS) d. Alex Watts (E) 6-2, 6-3; 2. Hayley Jones (E) d. Nash Hughes (BU) 3-6, 6-4, 6-3; 3. Ashely Devereaux (BU) d. Connie Kutschbach (E) 6-3, 6-3; 4. Tory Treat (E) d. Ally Cornwell (BU) 6-3, 6-4


1. Lauren Leonard-Kelsey Prestly (BW) d. Alyssa Nasco-Jamie Richardson (E) 6-2, 6-3; 2. Maddie Higgins-Dana Dowell (BU) d. Noelle Maelvitis-Adrianna Worden (BR) 6-0, 2-2 (injury default); 3. Jessy Cooper-Rachel Gipson (BW) d. Audrey Funk-Kelsey Patrick (BU) 3-6, 6-3, 6-4; 4. Taylor Mattiford-Alissa Gamble (BW) d. Madison Hatkevich-Andrea Wagoner (E) 5-7, 6-2, 6-4

Coach of the Year

Kim Bartz, Edwardsburg