Brandywine claims own crown

Published 7:51 am Monday, December 13, 2010

The Brandywine wrestling team went 5-0 on Saturday to win its own team dual tournament. (Daily Star photo/RON HARNER)

The Brandywine wrestling team captured its own Brandywine Team Duals championship on Saturday by going 5-0 on the day.

The Bobcats defeated Lawrence 39-17, Centreville 75-5, Benton Harbor 66-18, Countryside/LMC 54-16 and Marcellus 72-12 to take the title.

Lawrence was second at 4-1, while Benton Harbor was third at 3-2, Countryside/LMC fourth at 2-3, Marcellus fifth at 1-4 and Centreville sixth at 0-5.

Going undefeated on the day for the Bobcats were William Newton (103), Jimmie Wright (119), Arthur Morris (130), Chanc Ravish (140), Alex Humphrey (152) and Miguel Martinez (160).

Brandon Earles (125), Nick Wright (135), Trevor Jones (171) and Joe Molica (189) were all 4-1.

Brandywine Team Duals


Brandywine 5-0, Lawrence 4-1, Benton Harbor 3-2, Countryside-LMC 2-3, Marcellus 1-4, Centreville 0-5

Match results

First round

Benton Harbor 27, Marcellus 21

Brandywine 39, Lawrence 37

Countryside-LMC 23, Centreville 18

Second round

Countryside-LMC 30, Marcellus 18

Brandywine 75, Centreville 5

Lawrence 45, Benton Harbor 21

Third round

Marcellus 30, Centreville 23

Brandywine 66, Benton Harbor 18

Lawrence 54, Countryside-LMC 16

Fourth round

Lawrence 60, Marcellus 18

Brandywine 75, Countryside-LMC 6

Benton Harbor 33, Centreville 24

Fifth round

Lawrence 42, Centreville 27

Brandywine 72, Marcellus 12

Benton Harbor 30, Countryside-LMC 12

5-0 wrestlers

Brandywine – William Newton (103), Jimmie Wright (119), Arthur Morris (130), Chanc Ravish (140), Alex Humphrey (152) and Miguel Martinez (160); Centreville – Conner McElroy (103); Lawrence – Zach McAndrew (145), Trevor Streit (171), Malik Fenney (189)

4-1 wrestlers

Benton Harbor – Codlon Ison (135), Lamar Calahan (145), Harold Jackson (171), Cameron Jenkins (215); Brandywine – Brandon Earles (125), Nick Wright (135), Trevor Jones (171) and Joe Molica (189); Centreville – Darian Kirby (130); Countryside-LMC – Cody Short (119); Lawrence – Thomas Horvath (130), Edgar Linars (140); Marcellus – Macy Stokes (103), Brandon Pearce (152)

Niles wrestling

GRAND HAVEN — The Niles wrestling team may have suffered its first loss of the season Saturday at the Grand Haven Duals, but the Vikings have nothing to be ashamed of.

Niles finished second to No. 5 ranked Holly at the team tournament on Saturday after defeating host Grand Haven (39-36), Eaton Rapids (61-18), Spring Lake (60-18) and Grand Rapids Forest Hills Northern (84-6).

The Vikings (13-1) lone loss came to highly ranked Holly in the second round of the tournament 48-21.

“The kids wrestled very well against some good competition,” Niles coach Todd Hesson said. “I think we surprised Grand Haven in the first round.”

Casey Burandt opened the match with a pin and then Donte Stevens picked up a pin at 152-pounds, but the Vikings trailed 30-12 heading into the 285-pound match with Mike Gentry.

Niles rallied with pins at 285, 103, 112 and Cole Allison’s one-point victory at 125-pounds gave the Vikings a 36-33 advantage.

Colin Burandt then sealed the victory with a pin at 130-pounds.

“Colin had a big day, moving up from 130- to 135-pounds to knock off two ranked kids (Holly and Spring Lake) as well as sealing our win against Grand Haven,” Hesson said. “We beat perennial powerhouse Eaton Rapids and in our loss against No. 5 Holly we wrestled tough, they are just a very solid team from top to bottom.”

Gentry was one of four Niles wrestlers to go 5-0 on the day. All five wins for the Vikings’ heavyweight were by pin. Also going undefeated were Burandt, Tyler Baber and Stevens.

“Tyler Baber and Donte Stevens both wrestled extremely well,” Hesson said. “Donte has been working hard and has improved daily. Cole Allison, Dakota Wright and Casey Burandt wrestled well. All three of their losses came against No. 1 and No. 2 ranked kids from Holly. The kids work hard and continue to improve. Hopefully this will carry over into next week’s tournament at Dansville.”

Before the Vikings head to the Lansing area for another tournament, they will host a quad meet on Wednesday.

Grand Haven Duals

Niles results

Niles 39, Grand Haven 36

Niles 61, Eaton Rapids 18

Holy 48, Niles 21

Niles 60, Spring Lake 18

Niles 84, Grand Rapids Forest Hills Northern 6

Undefeated Niles


Tyler Baber (103), Colin Burandt (130/135), Donte Stevens (152/160), Mike Gentry (285)

4-1 Niles wrestlers

Dakota Wright (112), Cole Allison (125), Casey Burandt (130/135)

Buchanan wrestling

SOUTH HAVEN — The Buchanan Bucks captured the South Haven Invitational on Saturday by defeating Lakeland Conference foe Edwardsburg 62-15 in the championship match.

Going undefeated for the Bucks were John Jackson, Taylor Glavin, Alex Eger, Alex Darmos, Jeff Mucha, John Kuntz, Gage Hutchison, Jacob Ferris, Mack Green and Dustan Craig.

Finishing the day at 4-1 were Jon Lee and T.J. Miller.

At the Galesburg-Augusta team tournament, Buchanan’s “B” team finished third at 3-2.

Lawton won the title with a 5-0 record, while Cassopolis was second at 4-1. Fennville as fourth (2-3), Climax-Scotts fifth (1-4) and Galesburg-Augusta sixth (0-5).

Going undefeated for the Bucks were Patrick Wheetley, Austin Cauffman, Jim DeVlaminck and Dylan Williamson (4-0). Alex Brown was 4-1.

South Haven Invitational

Team standings

Buchanan, Edwardsburg, Bangor, Godwin Heights, Reed City, St. Joseph, South Haven, Thornapple-Kellogg, Bloomingdale, Kalamazoo Loy Norrix


undefeated wrestlers

John Johnson, Taylor Glavin, Alex Eger, Alex Darmos, Jeff Mucha, John Kuntz, Gage Hutchison, Jacob Ferris, Mack Green, Dustan Craig


4-1 wrestlers

Jon Lee, T.J. Miller

Galesburg-Augusta Team


Team records

Lawton 5-0, Cassopolis 4-1, Buchanan 3-2, Fennville 2-3, Climax-Scotts 1-4, Galesburg-Augusta 0-5

Buchanan undefeated wrestlers

Patrick Wheetley, Austin Cauffman, Jim DeVlaminck, Dylan Williamson

Buchanan 4-1


Alex Brown

Chieftain Invitational

DOWAGIAC — A new comer to the Chieftain Invitational walked away with the championship on Saturday.

Fairfield (Ind.) went 5-0 on the day to capture the championship of the team tournament. Kalamazoo Central was 4-1 and finished second, while Hopkins was third with a 3-2 record.

White Pigeon was fourth (2-3), Lakeshore fifth (3-2), Dowagiac sixth (2-3), Hopkins “B” seventh (1-4) and Berrien Springs eighth (0-5).

Dowagiac’s Ben Luth and Ryan Smit were both undefeated on the day.

Chieftain Invitational

Team records

Fairfield 5-0, Kalamazoo Central 4-1, Hopkins 3-2, White Pigeon 2-3, Lakeshore 3-2, Dowagiac 2-3, Hopkins “B” 1-4, Berrien Springs 0-5

Undefeated wrestlers

Dowagiac – Ben Luth, Ryan Smit; Berrien Springs – Mike Huspen; White Pigeon – Holden Tullos; Kalamazoo Central – Luis Rodriguez, Shane Kelly, Will Royster; Fairfield – Jerad Stump, Forrest Gloyowski, Jordan Bontrager, Brandon Weiferman