Nearly 1,700 take part in run

Published 2:49 pm Friday, November 26, 2010

Runners brave the cold, foggy and wet conditions Thursday to take part in the Thanksgiving Day Run. Nearly 1,700 runners took part in the annual event. (Daily Star photo/KELLY SWEENEY)

Runners brave the cold, foggy and wet conditions Thursday to take part in the Thanksgiving Day Run. Nearly 1,700 runners took part in the annual event. (Daily Star photo/KELLY SWEENEY)

Nearly 1,700 people braved the cold, foggy and wet conditions Thursday morning to take part in the Niles-Buchanan YMCA Thanksgiving Day run.

Joseph Zielinski of South Bend, Ind. captured the men’s 10K race with a time of 33:23, while Brittney Rigterink of Saint Joseph was the women’s winner with a time of 34:12.

Nick Arndt of New Carlisle, Ind. was the men’s 5K champion with a time of 16:58 and Jenny Every of Peoria, Ill. was the women’s winner with a time of 17:57.

Doug Anderson of Baroda and Tammy Wilson of Niles won the 5K walk crowns for men and women respectively.

Anderson toured the course in 26:37 and Wilson in 35:22.

Niles-Buchanan YMCA

Thanksgiving Day Run

10K results

Men’s top 5

Joseph Zielinski 33:23

Kyle Higdon 33:42

Nathan Jones 34:11

Charlie Fox 34:48

Brendan Fox 34:48

Women’s top 5

Brittney Rigterink 34:12

Tamera Mark 34:13

Katie Fenstermaker 36:35

Samantha Wassel 41:09

Audrey Schlutt 41:57

Individual top 25

Joseph Zielinski South Bend Ind. 33:23 33

Kyle Higdon Michigan City Ind. 33:42

Nathan Jones Shipshewana Ind. 34:11

Brittney Rigterink St. Joseph 34:12

Tamera Mark St. Joseph 34:13

Charlie Fox Plymouth Ind. 34:48

Brendan Fox West Point N.Y. 34:48

James Kirschner St. Joseph 35:08

Matt Jones Lagrange Ind. 35:14

Bruce Faltynski South Bend Ind. 36:00

Nicolas Schuck Niles 36:04 36

Jeff Kindelan South Bend Ind. 36:09 36

Ben Jacobs Three Rivers 36:33

Karl Young St. Joseph  36:35

Katie Fenstermaker South Bend Ind. 36:35

Edwind. Hurlow Berrien Springs 37:18 37

Alex McPherson Granger Ind. 37:26

Joshua Marshall South Bend Ind. 37:45

Elliott Stone Stevensville 37:55

Troy Smits St. Joseph 37:57 37

Mike McCarthy Mishawaka Ind. 38:09

Patrick Favo South Bend Ind. 38:23

Samuel Vandenheede Niles 38:34

Greg Thompson New Carlisle Ind. 38:36

Ryan Fenstermaker South Bend Ind. 38:55

5K results

Men’s top 5

Nick Arndt 16:58

Zachery Johnson 17:03

Devind. Duffy 17:24

Jarret Anderson 17:27

David Foura 17:40

Women’s top 5

Jenny Every 17:57

Kara Egan 18:41

Katherine Manion 18:44

Micki Logue 18:58

Ellen Conner 20:21

Individual top 25

Nick Arndt New Carlisle Ind.16:58

Zachery Johnson Osceola Ind. 17:03 17

Devind. Duffy Granger Ind. 17:24

Jarret Anderson Bridgman 17:27 17

David Foura Three Rivers 17:40

Nate Stapulionis Chagrin Falls Ohio 17:41

Chris Gantt Dowagiac 17:42

Jenny Every Peoria Ill. 17:57

Nick Whise St. Joseph 18:08 18

Alex Farrington Stevensville 18:22

Joel Sparks Cassopolis 18:34

Garry Harrington South Bend Ind.. 18:37

Matthew Morrow Niles 18:39

Kara Egan Indianapolis Ind. 18:41

Katherine Manion South Bend, Ind. 18:44

Scott Manwaring Grand Rapids 18:48

Dan Mitchell Buchanan 18:55

Trent Schafer Stevensville 18:55

Aaron Weber Hartford 18:57

Micki Logue South Bend Ind. 18:58

Ken Burke Niles 18:58

Carsten McCarty Buchanan 19:11 19

Nick Cummins Dewitt 19:25

Eric Walker Granger Ind. 19:28

Brendon Wurzel Berrien Center 19:31

5K Walk

Men’s top 5

Doug Anderson 26:37

Mitchell Starr 30:40

Jerry Dlouhy 33:27

Charlie Ham 34:16

Marc Hurt 37:19

Women’s top 5

Tammy Wilson 35:22

Amie Kurtz 36:05

Karen Nash 36:11

Susan Soisson 36:38

Ann Manion 39:06

Individual top 25

Doug Anderson Baroda 26:37

Mitchell Starr Berrien Springs 30:40

Jerry Dlouhy St. Joseph 33:27

Charlie Ham Niles 34:16 36

Tammy Wilson Niles 35:22

Amie Kurtz St. Joseph 36:05

Karen Nash Berrien Springs 36:11

Susan Soisson South Bend Ind. 36:38

Marc Hurt Niles 37:19

Mike Barber Niles 39:00 39

Ann Manion South Bend Ind. 39:06

Pamela Kurtz St. Joseph 40:00

Duane Bolind Charlotte 40:14 41

Pennie Butterworth Niles 40:27

Johathan Constantine Berrien Springs 41:02

Sherri Tuttle South Bend Ind. 41:29

Michael Constantine Berrien Springs 41:33

Sarah Stone Ypsilanti 42:05

Tom Szumski Granger Ind. 42:05

Heidi Stapulionis Chagrin Falls Ohio 42:32

Sean Stapulionis Chagrin. Falls Ohio 42:33

Patricia Butzow St. Joseph 43:03 45

Patricia Migas South Bend Ind. 43:08

Diane Grice South Bend Ind. 43:09

Marilyn Riley Baroda 43:21