Edwardsburg defeats Cassopolis in Lakeland Conference soccer tourney

Published 11:45 am Thursday, October 14, 2010

Luke Rohrman and Austin Teter both scored two goals as host Edwardsburg defeated Cassopolis 9-1 in the opening round of the Lakeland Conference Soccer Tournament.

The Eddies led 5-0 at halftime in a match that was stopped by the mercy rule with 13:23 remaining in the second half.

Edwardsburg’s Luke Rohrman had a pair of goals as the Eddies defeated Cassopolis 9-1 in the Lakeland soccer tournament. (Vigilant/Argus photo/SCOTT NOVAK)

Edwardsburg’s Luke Rohrman had a pair of goals as the Eddies defeated Cassopolis 9-1 in the Lakeland soccer tournament. (Vigilant/Argus photo/SCOTT NOVAK)

Max Habicht got the Eddies on the scoreboard first as he scored just three minutes into the match off an assist from Rohrman.

Rohrman made it 2-0 six minutes later off an assist by Andy Boyles. When Zac Huff found the back of the next on an unassisted goal, the Rangers switched keepers 19 minutes into the match.

Teter increased Edwardburg’s lead to 4-0 in the 35th minute and Jeff Roberson completed the first half scoring with a goal in the 38th minute. Huff assisted on the Teter goal and Rohrman assisted on Roberson’s score.

The Eddies held an 18-7 advantage in shots on goal in the first half as they had the better of it on the offensive end.

Cassopolis opened the second half scoring as it cut the lead to 5-1 on a score by Ryne Nickel in the 41st minute.

The Eddies responded quickly as seven minutes later Boyles scored off an assist from Rohrman.

The lead reached 7-1 a minute later when Rohrman picked up his second goal off an assist from Evan VanBelle.

In the 54th minute, Teter scored his second goal which was unassisted.

Edwardsburg got the final goal of the match in the 66th minute when Brody Baucus scored off the assist from Josh Wyman.

The Eddies finished with a 28-11 advantage in shots on goal.



Halftime score

Edwardsburg 5, Cassopolis 0

First half

E – Max Habicht 3rd minute (Luke Rohrman assist)

E – Rohrman 9th minute (Andy Boyles assist)

E – Zac Huff 19th minute

E – Austin Teter 35th minute (Jeff Roberson assist)

E – Roberson 38th minute (Rohrman assist)

Second Half

C – Ryne Nickel 41st minute

E – Boyles 48th minute (Rohrman assist)

E – Rohrman 49th minute (Evan VanBelle assist)

E – Teter 54th minute

E – Brody Baucus 66th minute (Josh Wyman assist)

Shots on goal

Cassopolis  11

Edwardsburg 28


Berrien Springs…3

BERRIEN SPRINGS — The Rangers dropped their second straight match in the league tournament as the host Shamrocks scored a 3-1 victory on Monday afternoon.

Berrien Springs picked up goals from Enoch Tsibu-Beckson (2) and Gluder Quispe.

The lone Ranger goal was scored by Brendon Westick.

Cassopolis was outshot by Berrien 13-5.



Edwardsburg advanced to the Lakeland Conference championship match against Bridgman Wednesday afternoon with a 6-0 decision over Coloma in the semifinals.

Bridgman won the regular season title with a 6-0 record, while Edwardsburg finished second with a 4-2 mark.

The two teams also met last year for the conference title with the Eddies taking the championship with a 2-0 win over the Bees.

Jeff Roberson scored a pair of goals for the Eddies against the Comets, while Andy Boyles, Austin Teter and Luke Rohrman also scored.