RedBud ready for annual invasion of riders

Published 7:05 pm Wednesday, June 30, 2010

BUCHANAN –  With five rounds of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship completed, it appears as though the path to the 2010 450 Class championship will go through Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey.

For the fourth consecutive weekend, the rookie rider from Minnesota grabbed the overall victory, extending his points lead over the field.

He looks to continue the run as the series heads to Buchanan for the legendary Rockstar Energy RedBud National on Saturday, signifying the halfway point of the season.

En route to his overall victory at the Toyota Trucks Thunder Valley National last weekend in Colorado, Dungey grabbed his sixth win over the last eight motos. His advantage over GEICO Powersports Honda’s Brett Metcalfe, who sits second in the standings, is at 51 points. Various riders have shown the potential to challenge Dungey, including defending champion Chad Reed, Jagermeister KTM’s Mike Alessi, Honda Red Bull Racing’s Andrew Short and Muscle Milk/Toyota/JGR’s Josh Grant, each of whom have grabbed moto wins in 2010.

This weekend, those riders and the rest of the premier class field will look to end Dungey’s dominance heading into the year’s second off week.

Through four rounds of competition in the 250 Class, four different winners grabbed the overall victory, but last weekend at Thunder Valley, that streak came to an end when current points leader Christophe Pourcel captured his second overall of the season for Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki.

The Frenchman has sat atop the points since the second round of the season and has extended his advantage at every stop since. Last weekend, he secured the first 1-1 performance of the year, but his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki teammates and fellow overall winners Dean Wilson and Tyla Rattray are keeping Pourcel in their sights.
One of the biggest storylines heading into RedBud this weekend is the debut of the Women’s Motocross Championship.

For the first time in the illustrious history of the popular facility, the nation’s fastest females will attack the track and put on a show for the enthusiastic Michigan fans.

DNA Shred Stix/Star Racing Yamaha’s Jessica Patterson remains perfect through three rounds of the eight-race championship while defending two-time champion Ashley Fiolek continues to dial in her Honda Red Bull Racing machine. At Thunder Valley, a rough track presented a unique challenge to the women, but Patterson prevailed and is well on her way to a possible sixth championship.

RedBud is well known as one of the most popular tracks on the schedule for riders and fans alike.

The vast layout full of air time and extremely technical obstacles in combination with the excitement and tradition of the 4th of July results in one of the most special motorsports events in the U.S. Adding to the fun is the always impressive LaRocco’s Leap, a 120-foot uphill “triple” jump that serves as the biggest jump in motocross.

The immense obstacle is named for local hero and South Bend, Ind. native Mike LaRocco who not only became the first rider to successfully accomplish the feat, but was also an integral part in the construction of the jump.

To celebrate over three decades of American motocross in Buchanan, the Ritchie family is eager to host the Michigan Mafia Reunion. As longtime hotbed of motocross that produced one of the most iconic groups of riders that still lives on through today with DeWitt native and Monster Energy Kawasaki rider Nick Wey, RedBud is honoring a longtime Michigan tradition with nostalgic photos and bikes from the 70s and 80s era.
On Friday night, RedBud will host the second annual Fan Fest at the track, centering around the Michigan Mafia Reunion. Former champion Jeff Stanton, local WMX rider Whitmore and current Michigan Mafia flag bearer Wey will be just some of the stars in attendance. The festivities run from 6-8 p.m.

Additionally, RedBud will be eco-friendly in 2010 by going green in a concentrated effort to promote recycling at the track. Every disposal site throughout the entire facility will be accompanied by a recycling bin designated for the thousands of glass, aluminum and plastic containers that will be used throughout the weekend. Recycling banks will also be located at high traffic areas in an effort to provide ample opportunities to help the environment.

The Rockstar Energy RedBud National serves as the second of three live races to air on NBC Sports. Coverage of the second 450 Class moto will air at 3:30 p.m.

Gates drop at RedBud beginning at 1 p.m. on Saturday.
Next-day coverage of the 250 Class can be seen on Sunday at 4 p.m. on SPEED. As always, live internet stream of the first motos of each class can be seen at

2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro
Motocross Championship
450 Class standings

1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 218
2. Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda, 167
3. Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki, 160
4. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM, 154
5. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 153
6. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 152
7. Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda, 151
8. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 108
9. Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Suzuki, 101
10. Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Honda, 94

250 Class Championship standings

1. Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki, 219
2. Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki, 185
3. Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki, 180
4. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 162
5. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha, 151
6. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda, 140
7. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 135
8. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda, 112
9. Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Yamaha, 108
10. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda, 106

WMX Class
Championship standings
(After 3 of 8 Rounds)

1. Jessica Patterson, Tallahassee, Fla., Yamaha, 150
2. Ashley Fiolek, St. Augustine, Fla., Honda, 124
3. Tarah Gieger, Winter Gardens, Fla., Honda, 109
4. Vicki Golden, El Cajon, Calif., Yamaha, 97
5. Sara Price, Canyon Lake, Calif., Kawasaki, 88
6. Mariana Balbi, Brazil, Yamaha, 78
7. Sarah Whitmore, Cheboygan, Mich., KTM 72
8. Jacqueline Strong, Sedona, Ariz., Yamaha, 71
9. Alexah Pearson, Rocklin, Calif., Yamaha, 70
10. Tatum Sik, Temecula, Calif., Yamaha, 68