Edwardsburg matmen sweep Niles, Dowagiac

Published 3:38 pm Thursday, February 11, 2010


NILES – Visiting Edwardsburg went 2-0, the host Vikings 1-1 and Dowagiac 0-2 in a very long evening of wrestling at Niles High School.
The Eddies defeated Niles in the opening round 41-25 and then knocked off the Chieftains 47-24 in the second match of the night.
Earning two wins on the night for the Eddies were Michael Borden (103), Michael Kempton (112), Cameron Warren (125/130), Lane Smous (140), Terry Brasfield (145) and Troy Duck (215).
Also earning wins for Edwardsburg were Lee Williamson (152), Wade Smous (160), Justin Steinke (171), Ryan Loupee (152), Brad Brasfield (160) and Steven Coble (189).
In the final match, the Vikings defeated Dowagiac 40-31.
The entire evening took nearly five hours to complete with the final pairing between Niles and the Chieftains wrapping up around 10:40 p.m.
The Vikings got two wins on the night from Gage Pearison (119), Colin Burandt (125) and Ryan Casey (171).
Earning wins against Edwardsburg were Robbie Legus (140) and Mike Gentry (285).
Picking up wins against the Chieftains were Dakota Wright (112), Marcus Hatcher (140), Rashad Harris (152) and Fritz Findiesen (160).
Findiesen’s pin of Dowagiac’s Shane Filley in 57 seconds lifted the Vikings into the lead.
Casey’s pin of Jacob Brom in 2:48 gave Niles its final margin of victory.
Dowagiac had three wrestlers go 2-0 on the night as Ben Luth earned a forfeit and a pin against Niles’ Christian Rackley (3:52); Ricky Roach pinned Edwardsburg’s Steven Coble (:43) and Niles’ Alec Landon (:55); and Sinjin Ownby pinned Edwardsburg’s Tyler Peters (4:32) and decisioned Niles’ Mike Gentry 3-1 in overtime.
Ownby’s winning takedown came with 0.7 left on the clock.
Also earning wins against Edwardsburg were Andrew Roden (119) and Ryan Smit (130).
Against Niles, Jacob Worthington (103), Daniel Crandall (135), Kasey Proshwitz (145) and Anthony Nelson (215) were additional winners.

103: Michael Borden (E) p. Jacob Worthington, 5:51
112: Michael Kempton (E) p. Tyler Cross 1:00
119: Andrew Roden (D) d. Caleb Watson 8-2
125: Cameron Warren (E) wins by forfeit
130: Ryan Smit (D) d. Ross Karaman 7-1
135: Ben Luth (D) wins by forfeit
140: Lane Smous (E) d. Daniel Crandall 6-4
145: Terry Brasfield (E) d. Kasey Proshwitz 18-7
152: Lee Williamson (E) d. Logan Pellow 14-2
160: Wade Smous (E) wins by forfeit
171: Justin Steinke (E) p. Jacob Brom 3:15
189: Ricky Roach (D) p. Steven Coble :43
215: Troy Duck (E) wins by forfeit
285: Sinjin Ownby (D) p. Tyler Peters 4:32

103: Jacob Worthington (D) d. Nicholas Zimmerman 17-6
112: Dakota Wright (N) p. Tyler Cross :46
119: Gage Pearison (N) p. Andrew Roden 2:34
125: Colin Burandt (N) d. Ryan Smit 12-1
130: Ben Luth (D) p. Christian Rackley 3:52
135: Daniel Crandall (D) d. Donte Stevens 6-4
140: Marcus Hatcher (N) wins by forfeit
145: Kasey Proshwitz (D) d. Robbie Legus 12-7
152: Rashad Harris (N) p. Logan Pellow 4:31
160: Fritz Findiesen (N) p. Shane Filley :57
171: Ryan Casey (N) p. Jacob Brom 2:48
189: Ricky Roach (D) p. Alec Landon :55
215: Anthony Nelson (D) p. James Asmus 1:45
285: Sinjin Ownby (D) d. Mike Gentry 3-1

103: Michael Borden (E) d. Nicholas Zimmerman 9-1
112: Michael Kempton (E) d. Dakota Wright 15-13
119: Gage Pearison (N) d. Caleb Watson 15-2
125: Colin Burandt (N) p. Ross Karaman 3:05
130: Cameron Warren (E) d. Donte Stevens 10-2
135: Lane Smous (E) d. Christian Rackley 4-0
140: Robbie Legus (N) p. Garrett Hunsberger 5:37
145: Terry Brasfield (E) p. Rashad Harris 3:43
152: Ryan Loupee (E) d. Fritz Findiesen 19-13
160: Brad Brasfield (E) p. Tyler Meade 3:08
171: Ryan Casey (N) p. Dylan Devenney 3:59
189: Steven Coble (E) p. Alec Landon 2:50
215: Troy Duck (E) p. James Asmus
285: Mike Gentry (N) d. Josh Williams 9-5