Michigan’s Mesko on Ray Guy watch list for third straight year

Published 9:09 am Wednesday, August 12, 2009

AUGUSTA, Ga. – A preseason first-team All-America, fifth-year senior punter Zoltan Mesko has been named to the watch list for the Ray Guy Award for the third consecutive season.

Mesko is one of nine players on the 2009 preseason watch list, which includes five returning semifinalists from last season.

A 2008 semifinalist for the nation’s top punter award, Mesko was named to the Playboy Magazine All-America Team. He was a first-team All-Big Ten selection last season after leading the conference and finishing 19th nationally in punting average (42.95 avg.). Mesko earned fourth-team All-America honors from Phil Steele Magazine in 2008.

Mesko (Twinsburg, Ohio/Twinsburg HS) graduated this past spring with a bachelor’s degree in finance and marketing from the Stephen M. Ross School of Business, and he is currently working on a master’s degree in sports management. Mesko is a three-time Academic All-Big Ten Conference honoree and this year was named one of three Big Ten Distinguished Student-Athletes on the U-M football team. He is also a four-time U-M Athletic Academic Achievement recipient.

He has appeared in 38 career games as the Wolverines starting punter. Mesko has punted 200 times during his career for a 42-yard average, the second-best career mark in school history. He needs four punts and 172 yards to set Michigan career records in both categories. Mesko has pinned 63 of his 200 career punts inside the opponent’s 20-yard line and has boomed 43 punts of 50 yards or better.

The watch list will be trimmed to 10 semifinalists on Nov. 13 and the three finalists will be announced Nov. 23. The winner of the 2009 Ray Guy Award will be announced live on ESPN on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 10.

Following is a list of the players on the watch list for the 2009 Ray Guy Award:
Bryan Anger, California, Sophomore: 2008 Ray Guy Award semifinalist
Ben Armer, Western Michigan, Sophomore
Travis Baltz, Maryland, Junior
Matt Dodge, East Carolina, Senior
Ryan Donahue, Iowa, Junior: 2008 Ray Guy Award semi-finalist
Derek Epperson, Baylor, Junior: 2008 Ray Guy Award semi-finalist
Chas Henry, Florida, Junior: 2008 Ray Guy Award semi-finalist
Zoltan Mesko, Michigan, Senior: 2008 Ray Guy Award semi-finalist
Ross Thevenot, Tulane, Senior