Buchanan grapplers win Eau Claire Invitational

Published 12:42 am Monday, December 22, 2008

By Staff
EAU CLAIRE – The Buchanan varsity wrestling team only brought nine wrestlers to the Eau Claire Invitational on Saturday.
Five of those grapplers won championships to help the Bucks lay claim to the team title.
Buchanan won individual championships from Drew Medlin (135), Bryan Miller (160), David Ferris (171), Mike Connors (215) and Robert Riggs (285) to edge Decatur for the team title, 146.5-144.5.
Schoolcraft finished third with 143.5 points, while Watervliet was fourth (116), Cassopolis fifth (101), Berrien Springs sixth (83.5), Hartford seventh (60), Lawton eighth (50), Eau Claire ninth (46), River Valley 10th (32.5), Fennville 11th (28) and Gobles 12th (14).
The Rangers won an individual championship at 140 points with Corey Lowe.
The biggest win of the day may have come from Miller, who pinned Kim Vaughn of Cassopolis in 4:17 despite breaking his nose during the bout.
The Bucks also won a pair of overtime matches. The first came at 135-pounds where Medlin edged Cameron Johnson of Lawton 3-2 in double overtime, while the other came at 215-pounds where Connors edged Cassopolis' Scott Turnbow 3-2 in four overtimes.
Over at the White Pigeon Invitational, Buchanan's 'B' team finished tied with Otsego with a 3-1 record, but lost the team title on a tiebreaker.
Going undefeated on the day for the Bucks were Jacob Hurd (103), Zach Zeitler (112), Josh Farrow (135), John Kuntz (160) and John Lee (135-140).
Ging 3-1 on the day were Andy Ketchum (125-130), Justin Fuller (130-135), T.J. Miller (145) and Jacob Ferris (189).
Eau Claire Invitational
Team scores
Buchanan 146.5, Decatur 144.5, Schoolcraft 143.5, Watervliet 116, Cassopolis 101, Berrien Springs 83.5, Hartford 60, Lawton 50, Eau Claire 46, River Valley 32.5, Fennville 28, Gobles 14.
Championship round
103: Luke Bell (D) d. Dan Isbrecht (W), 6-4
112: Michael Huspen (BS) d. Ryan Teunnisen (W), 6-4
119: Jeremy Flagel (W) d. Skyler Schoff (D) 16-2
125: Mitchell Kennedy (D) d. Trent Rhoda (S), 7-4
130: Cody Brookman (S) p. Anthony Johnson (W), 1:13
135: Drew Medlin (B) d. Cameron Johnson (L), 3-2 (2 OT)
140: Corey Lowe (C) pinned Chico Beach (F), 3:42
145: John Koscis (D) beat Greg Brown (S), 3-1 (OT)
152: Tyler Carr (W) beat Connor Sharp (S), 4-1
160: Bryant Miller (B) pinned Kim Vaughn (C), 4:17
171: David Ferris (B) beat Brandon McNees (Schoolcraft), 9-4
189: Brandon Grosvenor (D) pinned Colby Nadrasik (Schoolcraft), 1:01
215: Mike Connors (B) beat Scott Turnbow (C), 3-2 (4 OT)
285: Robert Riggs (B) beat Cory Wilbur (EC), 3-1