Chieftain grapplers show inexperience in opener

Published 6:20 pm Thursday, December 4, 2008

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Dowagiac Daily News
BUCHANAN – A lot of youthful mistakes led to a very lopsided loss for the Dowagiac varsity wrestling team Wednesday night in its season opener.
Add to that five forfeits and the Chieftains ended up on the wrong end of a 66-7 decision at the hands of a very talented Buchanan Bucks squad.
The Bucks picked up forfeits at 103 (Taylor Glavin), 112 (Jacob Hurd) 119 (Brent Brown), 140 (Drew Medlin) and 215 (Mike Connors).
Winning by pins for Buchanan were Justin Fuller at 130-pounds, Jon Lee at 135-pounds, Tony Taylor at 152-pounds, David Ferris at 171-pounds and Jacob Ferris at 189-pounds.
Fuller pinned Daniel Crandall in 4:26, while Lee pinned Reed Ennesser in 46 seconds.
Taylor took 2:55 to stick D.J. Tartt. David and Jacob Ferris pinned Andrew Hurrle and Pablo Pacheco in 3:27 and 1:01 respectively.
Decisions for the Bucks came from Adam Brydak at 145-pounds and Bryant Miller at 160-pounds.
Brydak defeated Kasey Proshwitz 13-6 and Miller defeated Michael McNeil 7-2.
Dowagiac's two wins both came via decision.
Sinjin Ownby edged Robert Riggs at 285-pounds, 10-8. Ryan Smit defeated John Querl 13-4 at 125-pounds.
"Sinjin really did a nice job with Riggs," Dowagiac coach John Green said. "We just made too many mistakes against a quality team. We will keep working to get better."
In junior varsity action, Buchanan's Brady Mollburg pinned Dontrell Tucker in 2:48 and Austin Cauffman pinned Matt Dodd in 1:20.
103: Taylor Glavin (B) wins by forfeit
112: Jacob Hurd (B) wins by forfeit
119: Brent Brown (B) wins by forfeit
125: Ryan Smit (D) d. John Querl, 13-4
130: Justin Fuller (B) p. Daniel Crandall, 4:26
135: Jon Lee (B) p. Reed Ennesser, :46
140: Drew Medlin (B) wins by forfeit
145: Adam Brydak (B) d. Kasey Proshwitz, 13-6
152: Tony Taylor (B) p. D.J. Tartt, 2:55
160: Bryant Miller (B) d. Michael McNeil, 7-2
171: David Ferris (B) p. Andrew Hurrle, 3:27
189: Jacob Ferris (B) p. Pablo Pacheco, 1:01
215: Mike Connors (B) wins by forfeit
285: Sinjin Ownby (D) d. Robert Riggs, 10-8