Michigan’s Henne leads All-Big Ten team

Published 1:08 pm Thursday, November 22, 2007

By Staff
PARK RIDGE, Ill. – The Big Ten announced the 2007 All-Conference football teams and individual award winners tonight as selected by the coaches and a media panel.
After leading Ohio State to a third straight conference title for the first time since 1977, linebacker James Laurinaitis was named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year by both the coaches and media while defensive end Vernon Gholston was honored as the Defensive Lineman of the Year by the coaches.
Michigan offensive tackle Jake Long became the first Big Ten standout to earn back-to-back Offensive Lineman of the Year laurels since 1996 after leading the Wolverines to a second-place finish in the conference standings.
Illinois tied Michigan for second in the Big Ten standings and racked up nine overall wins, an improvement of seven triumphs over last season, to sweep the remaining individual honors.
The coaches and media selected running back Rashard Mendenhall as the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and chose wide receiver Arrelious Benn as the Freshman of the Year while Ron Zook was the media's pick as the Dave McClain Coach of the Year.
Overall, there are 21 individuals repeating as members of the All-Big Ten first or second team from a year ago, including seven first-team selections from 2006 who are on this year's first team – Illinois' J Leman, Michigan's Adam Kraus, Long and Mario Manningham, Ohio State's Malcolm Jenkins and Laurinaitis and Wisconsin's Jack Ikegwuonu.
2007 All-Big Ten Conference
Football Team
As selected by the conference coaches
(Players in ALL CAPS have 2008 eligibility)
First Team Offense
Quarterback – Chad Henne, Michigan
Running back – RASHARD MENDENHALL, Illinois
Running back – CHRIS WELLS, Ohio State
Receiver – MARIO MANNINGHAM, Michigan
Receiver – JAMES HARDY, Indiana
Center – A.Q. SHIPLEY, Penn State
Guard – Martin O'Donnell, Illinois
Guard – Adam Kraus, Michigan
Tackle – Jake Long, Michigan
Tackle – Kirk Barton, Ohio State
Tight end – TRAVIS BECKUM, Wisconsin
Kicker – Taylor Mehlhaff, Wisconsin
First Team Defense
Line – GREG MIDDLETON, Indiana
Line – MITCH KING, Iowa
Line – VERNON CHOLSTON, Ohio State
Line – MAURICE EVANS, Penn State
Linebacker – J. Leman, Illinois
Linebacker – JAMES LAURINAITIS, Ohio State
Linebacker – Dan Connor, Penn State
Defensive back – VONTAE DAVIS, Illinois
Defensive back – MALCOLM JENKINS, Ohio State
Defensive back – JUSTIN KING, Penn State
Defensive back – JACK IKEGWUONU, Wisconsin
Punter – JEREMY BOONE, Penn State
Offensive Player of the Year – RASHARD MENDENHALL, Illinois
Offensive Lineman of the Year – Jake Long, Michigan
Defensive Player of the Year – JAMES LAURINAITIS, Ohio State
Defensive Lineman of the Year – VERNON GHOLSTON, Ohio State
Freshman of the Year – ARRELIOUS BENN, Illinois