Edwardsburg, Coloma dominate Lakeland volleyball squad

Published 11:45 am Tuesday, November 13, 2007

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Niles Daily Star
NILES – Lakeland Conference champion Edwardsburg and runner-up Coloma grabbed five of the six spots on all-league first team.
The Lady Comets actually ended up with three players to the Lady Eddies' two.
Named to the first team from Edwardsburg were Evie Tafunai and Stephanie Koontz. Coloma picks were Chelsea Barrett, Erica Bartholomew and Lindsey Hauch.
Buchanan's Emily Ross was the sixth member of the first team.
Edwardsburg's Sarah Cichowicz was named Coach of the Year.
Brandywine's Kendra Zache, along with Buchanan's Anna Callahan and Courtney Miller were second team selections.
Honorable mention picks from Edwardsburg were C.C. Roberts, Elise Mackling and Jeni Bollenbacher.
Brandywine's Katie Smallwood and Jenna Harris were honorable mention selections, as was Buchanan's Rachel Downs. Cassopolis' Molly Vite and Symone Pompey were also honorable mention picks.
Lakeland All-Conference Volleyball
First Team
Evie Tafunai, Edwardsburg – outside hitter
Stephanie Koontz, Edwardsburg – middle blocker
Emily Ross, Buchanan – setter
Chelsea Barrett, Coloma – outside/swing hitter
Erica Bartholomew, Coloma – setter
Lindsey Hauch, Coloma – middle hitter
Coach of the Year
Sarah Cichowicz, Edwardsburg
Second Team
Jodi Grandholm, River Valley – outside hitter
Anna Callahan, Buchanan – middle blocker
Courtney Miller, Buchanan – outside hitter
Autumn Nelson, Berrien Springs – outside hitter
Raechel Zahrn, Berrien Springs – libero/defensive specialist
Kendra Zache, Brandywine – left side hitter
Honorable Mention
C.C Roberts, Edwardsburg
Elise Mackling, Edwardsburg
Jeni Bollenbacher, Edwardsburg
Shelby Metz, Coloma
Rachel Downs, Buchanan
Katie Smallwood, Brandywine
Jenna Harris, Brandywine
Jade Lawrence, River Valley
Molly Vite, Cassopolis
Symone Pompey, Cassopolis
Tiffany Coffing, Bridgman
Ellie Lyman, Bridgman