Buchanan tennis team captures own tourney title

Published 9:57 pm Wednesday, August 22, 2007

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Niles Daily Star
NILES – Host Buchanan won six out of eight flight championships to capture its own Early Bird Tournament on Tuesday.
The Bucks amassed 21 points to easily defeat runner-up Edwardburg, which finished with 14 points. Niles was third with seven points and Dowagiac fourth with six points.
Buchanan's Taylor Oake and Tyler Toney grabbed singles championship.
Oake finished with a 3-0 record at No. 2 singles, while Toney was 3-0 at No. 3 singles.
Dowagiac's Collin Boyll went 2-1 to win the No. 1 singles title. Edwardsburg's Zac Karmaleges was 3-0 in capturing the top spot at No. 4 singles.
Finishing second in singles were Tom Blunier of Edwardsburg, Zake Ake of Edwardsburg, Zach Payne of Niles and Holly Lucas of Buchanan.
Harper Sulier and Grayson Oake of Buchanan posted a 3-0 record at No. 1 doubles to take home the championship. Bo Parsons and Joey Gajewski of Dowagiac finished second with a 2-1 record.
The Bucks' Max Gorton and Tyler Siebert won the No. 2 doubles crown with a 3-0 record. Dustin Jankoviak and Brad Benjamin of Niles were second with a 2-1 mark.
At No. 3 doubles, Buchanan's Zack Devereaux and Evan Cauffman went 3-0 to take the title over Zac Kau and Matt McCracken of Edwardsburg. Kau and McCracken were 2-1 on the day.
John Haslock and Ryan Henckel of Buchanan grabbed the No. 4 doubles crown with a 3-0 record. Edwardsburg's Jason Kamman and Ryker Huffman finished second with a 2-1 record.
"It was a great opportunity to see our local players get experience," Buchanan coach Steve Bender said. "All four of these teams graduated a huge chunk of their teams in the spring."