Butler wins Niles City Golf men’s championship

Published 6:39 pm Thursday, August 2, 2007

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Niles Daily Star
NILES – Jimmy Butler won the Niles City Golf Tournament men's championship by a stroke at Plym Park.
Butler shot a four-round total of 158 to edge Dave Hopper, who shot 159. John Haskins finished third with a 162.
The A-Flight championship went to Dave Hinsgardner, who shot 165 to edge Doug Ducet by a stroke. Curt McKinzie and John Tuentis tied for third after shooting identical 167s.
Scott Stewart won the B-Flight title with a 178. Tanner Dalenberg and John Horn tied for second of 183. The C-Flight championship went to Jerry Dalenberg, who shot 200.
The Senior A-Flight title was won by Fred Knutel, who shot a 145. Stan Williams finished second with a 160 and Ray Neldon third with a 171. Ron Peters captured the B-Flight championship with a four-round total of 174. Dave Bicard took second with a 177, while Ed Ralston finished third with a 180.
The Junior Division played just one round.
Andrew Stinke won the 15-17 age group with score of 42.
Leighton Sulak shot 43 to win the 14-year-old crown, while Sam Clark took first place in the 13-year-old group with a score of 58.