Zbikowski on Jim Thorpe preseason watch list

Published 5:55 pm Saturday, July 28, 2007

By Staff
NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Notre Dame senior safety Tom Zbikowski was one of 35 players named to the preseason watch list for the 2007 Jim Thorpe Award.
The Thorpe Award is presented annually to the nation's best college defensive back.
Zbikowski was named a second-team All-American in 2006 by the Walter Camp Football Foundation and the Associated Press named him to the third-team All-America squad each of the last two seasons.
The Arlington Heights, Ill. native was named a preseason first-team All-American by The Sporting News, Athlon, and Phil Steele.
Zbikowski has scored seven career touchdowns, is tied for the most career punt returns for a touchdown in school history and ranks 10th in Notre Dame annals with 220 career tackles.
The Thorpe Award watch list is derived through a point system based on preseason All-American teams listed in various football publications.
The watch list is narrowed to 10 semi-finalists the first Monday in November and then to three finalists the Monday before Thanksgiving.
The winner is announced on ESPN's College Football Awards Show, nationally telecast on Dec. 6. The official presentation of the award will be in Oklahoma City on Feb. 12.
Leading preseason
Jim Thorpe Award Candidates
Jamar Adams – Sr. – Michigan
Josh Barrett – Sr. – Arizona State
Zackary Bowman – Sr. – Nebraska
Tony Carter – Jr. – Florida State
Antoine Cason – Sr. – Arizona
Simeon Castille – Sr. – Alabama
Quintin Demps – Sr. – UTEP
Brandon Flowers – Jr. – Virginia Tech
Courtney Greene – Jr. – Rutgers
Michael Hamlin – Jr. – Clemson
Nic Harris – Jr. – Oklahoma
Victor Harris – Jr – Virginia Tech
Jonathan Hefney – Sr. – Tennessee
Chris Horton – Sr. – UCLA
Malcolm Jenkins – Jr. – Ohio State
Tyrell Johnson – Sr. – Arkansas State
Dennis Keyes -Sr. – UCLA
Justin King – Jr. – Penn State
Jamal Lewis – Sr. – Georgia Tech
Dwight Lowery – Sr. – San Jose State
Taylor Mays – So. – USC
Mike Mickens – Jr. – Cincinnati
Paul Oliver – Sr. – Georgia
Derek Pegues – Jr. – Mississippi State
Kenny Phillips – Jr. – Miami FL
Myron Rolle – So. – Florida State
Reggie Smith – Jr. – Oklahoma
Marty Tadman – Sr. – Boise State
Aqib Talib – Jr. – Kansas
Terrell Thomas – Sr. – USC
DeJuan Tribble – Sr. – Boston College
Eric Wicks – Sr. – West Virginia
Terrence Wheatley – Sr. – Colorado
Trae Williams – Sr. – South Florida
Tom Zbikowski – Sr. – Notre Dame