Conservation awards to be given out tonight

Published 12:44 am Monday, March 27, 2006

By Staff
CASSOPOLIS - Cass County: The Cass County Conservation District will hold its Annual Meeting and Board of Director's Election Thursday evening, March 23, at the Dowagiac Conservation Club, Dowagiac. Running for two vacancies on the Board of Directors are incumbents Jan Tolbert and Shirley Hartley.
Landowners in Cass County are eligible to vote in the election.
The evening's agenda starts with a welcome at 6 p.m., and a short meeting and election at 6:15 p.m. A potluck will follow at 6:30 p.m. Chicken and roast beef from Farm House Bakery, plus beverages, plates and flatware will be provided by the District.The awards presentation and program will follow at 7 p.m.
Cooperators to receive awards this year are: Farmer of the Year - Joe Van Tuyle; Wildlife Cooperator of the Year - Richard Atkinson; Conservation Educator of the Year - Paula Miles; Groundwater Stewardship Award - Jim Wagner; Environmental Stewardship Award - David Leach, Jeff Tolbert, Ron McAdam, Randy Hartley, Ron Ransbottom, Jim "Jimbo" Green, Scott Newland, Daryl Swartz, Mike Tucker, Bill Westrate, Chris Carrick, and James Lind.
The evening's program is Tales from the Bayou: Hurricane Katrina – August 29, 2005, presented by Gaye Blind, Executive Director of Berrien Conservation District. Gaye was in New Orleans with FEMA as a member of the Coast Guard Auxiliary following Hurricane Katrina.
The dinner, meeting and program are open to the public. The dinner's "admission price" is a side dish to pass. Please RSVP at Cass County Conservation District, (269) 445-8643 ext. 3, or email The office is located at 1127 E. State St.., Cassopolis, 49045.