Niles dominates pageant

Published 9:58 pm Monday, February 27, 2006

By By JOHN EBY / Niles Daily News
DOWAGIAC - “Birthday” by the Beatles boomed through Dowagiac Middle School Performing Arts Center Saturday afternoon in tribute to Blossomtime's 1906-2006 centennial.
The three-hour Bud Prince and Princess Pageant, added to Blossomtime festivities in 1989, crowned Madeline Marie Hemphill of Niles, from 44 girls and Nicolas Karamalegos of Niles, from 15 boys.
Madeline, 8, a second grader at Ottawa Elementary School in Buchanan, is the daughter of Brad and Brenda Hemphill. She has a sister, Alexandria, 12.
Madeline enjoys drawing, softball, soccer, basketball and gymnastics.
Nicolas, 9, a third grader at Edwardsburg's Eagle Lake Elementary School, is the son of Tim and Peggy Karamalegos.
Nicolas likes dancing, soccer, basketball, reading and playing with his older brothers, Joshua, 17, and Zachary, 13 1/2.
Princess first runner-up is Jessica Terris, 8, of St. Joseph. She is the daughter of James and Felecia Terris and attends E.P. Clark Elementary School.
Princess second runner-up is MacKenzie Renea Ehlers, 6, of Niles. She is the daughter of Robert and Lisa Ehlers and is in kindergarten at James Ellis Elementary School.
Prince first runner-up is Robert Fellows, 8, of Coloma. He is the son of Daniel and Rhonda Fellows and attends Washington Elementary School. Robert has three siblings, Dana, 18; Kala, 16; and Sara, 6.
Also finalists were Katelyn Boyer, 6, of Edwardsburg; and Monica Lynn Ward, 7, of Cassopolis.
Prince second runner-up is Garrett Von Behren, 6, of St. Joseph. He is the son of George and Lainie Von Behren. His mother, Miss St. Joseph and Miss Blossomtime 1988, will be mistress of ceremonies for the pageant next weekend.
Also making the final five were Austin Wray, 8, of Cassopolis; and Kody Riley, 7, of Coloma.
Continuing the Blossomtime 100th birthday theme, previous Bud Princess and Prince title holders returned to reminisce, including: Bethany Johnson, 1990; Brittany Lovell, 1994; Caitlin Klug, 1996; Katelyn Schultz, 1999; Daniel Reimers, 1999; David Reimers, 2000; Elizabeth Reimers, 2002 (who revealed that they played apple basketball using Miss Blossomtime's crown as their hoop); Andrew Boyer, 2004; Austin Green, 2005; and Ombreyanna Kopaceski, 2005.
While judges made two silent eliminations, Miss Kathy's Impressions and Positively Dance entertained.
Also competing were: Erin Jackson of Bridgman, Bailey Davis of St. Joseph, Kya Churchill of St. Joseph, Marisa Ann Dubinoff of St. Joseph, Madison Lohraff of St. Joseph, Noelle Abigail Kraus of Cassopolis, Kathryn Dowling of Watervliet, Audrey Nieusma-Gano of Stevensville, Katlin Kunde of Baroda, Courtney Kay Stanz of Watervliet, Olivia Wilson of Sawyer, Theresa “Rosie” Wuerfel of St. Joseph, Katie Malburg of Watervliet, Emma Breitkreuz of St. Joseph, Katie Marie Bayle of Edwardsburg, Allison Dia Hunsberger of Osceola, Ind., Alyssa Nicole Rainey of South Haven, Sarah Jaye Matson of Dowagiac, Taylor Nicole Bohn of St. Joseph, Morgan Dobbins of Bridgman, Allison Jones of St. Joseph, Kylee Burger of St. Joseph, Cassandra “Casey” Renee Forker of St. Joseph, Tela Lilly of St. Joseph, Kirsten Lenea Zayak of Dowagiac, Taylor Wagner of Baroda, Serena Sommer of Eau Claire, Kalen Laplace of Edwardsburg, Kirsten Dean of St. Joseph, Elani Angelina Walton-Klug of Eau Claire, Madison Symone Scott of Benton Harbor, Chaicee Jacobs of Edwardsburg, Kristi Lynn Quint of Three Oaks, Kimber Nieusma-Gano of Stevensville, Taeyler Johnson of Berrien Springs, Ashley Kathryn Weber of Stevensville, Hannah Starke of St. Joseph and Zoey Elizabeth Kay of Sawyer.
Boys competing also included Dylan Schultz-Nelson of Buchanan, Andrew Bussey of St. Joseph, Christopher Sidney James Statler of Sodus, Trevor Alexander Dannifel of Eau Claire, Ryan Tidey of Berrien Center, Hart Kovalska of St. Joseph, Anthony Potter of Edwardsburg, Bryce Robinson of St. Joseph, Drew Milan Mead of Stevensville and Hesson Wallace of Dowagiac.