Bobcats send eight to regional tournament

Published 8:56 pm Monday, February 20, 2006

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Niles Daily Star
NILES - District champion Brandywine advanced eight wrestlers to the individual regional tournament on Saturday at Eau Claire High School.
The Bobcats did not have a champion, however, they did have a pair of runners-up.
Adam Simons at 189-pounds and Aaron Edquist at 275-pounds both finished second on Saturday.
Also advancing for the Bobcats were Pat Van Laere, Warren Watson, Chase Molica, Justin Price, Joel Perry and Jeremy Hechtl.
The top four wrestlers in each weight class advance to Saturday's regional tournament to be held at Bangor High School.
Simons reached the finals where he met Watervliet standout Ben Isbrecht. Isbrecht pinned Simons in 2:54.
Edquist also lost by pin in the finals as Brad Wing of Watervliet stuck the Brandywine heavyweight in 3:23.
Van Laere, Watson, Molica and Perry all finished second for the Bobcats, who will face Constantine at Decatur in the team regional on Wednesday.
Price and Hechtl took fourth.
Cassopolis advanced a pair of grapplers as John McCoy was the district champion at 145-pounds, Cory Lowe finished second at 140-pounds.
Division 4
Championship finals
103: Jake Skinner (BA) d. Kevin Davis (EC), 5-3
112: John Stein (RV) t.f. Sydney Morris (L)
119: Jorge Gallegos (C) inj. def. Chas Burtchett (H)
125: Vince Carango (L) p. Dusten Burrows (BA), 0:43
130: Ben Efting (H) t.f. Efrain Solis (BA), 17-2
135: Hector Solis (BA) d. Lonnie Simmons (W), 4-2
140: Dan McCann (L) p. Cory Lowe (CA), 0:49
145: John McCoy (CA) d. Kyle Dornan (B), 6-5
152: Matt Johnson (D) d. Coty Marcoux (H), 9-6
160: Darrick Parker ((BA) d. Robert Hall (D), 9-2
171: Brandon Shull (BA) d. Chris Rasmussen (D), 6-4
189: Ben Isbrecht (W) p. Adam Simons (BW), 2:54
215: Jordan Rasmussen (D) p. Mike Tees (W), 0:20
275: Brad Wing (W) p. Aaron Edquist (BW), 3:23
Consolation finals
103: Cameron Serba (D) p. Dustin McMullin (RV), 1:16
112: Mike Cottier (CS/LMC) d. Shawn Lynch (W), 11-6
119: Pat Van Laere (BW) p. Brett Rathgeb (EC), 2:31
125: Warren Watson (BW) d. William Hodge, 13-4
130: Brett Goliher (D) d. Bobby Burson (G) 3-2
135: Chase Molica (BW) p. Corey Disterheft (EC), 2:45
140: Russ Kittleson (RV) p. Tim Wimbley (H), 2:41
145: Kenny Hugenell (D) p. Jason Ehlert (RV), 0:42
152: Andy Cottier (CS/LMC) p. Justin Price (BW), 2:17
160: Joel Perry (BW) d. John Coniglio (RV), 17-4
171: Tim Morrissey (RV) d. Mike Bartells (CS/LMC), 8-2
189: Nick Murphy (Bang) inj. Def. Randall Dibble (BA)
215: Marcileno Nunez (C) p. Jeremy Hechtl (BW), 4:56
275: Carlos Uvalle (H) p. Jesse Frenandez (F)