Eddies grapplers edge Cassopolis

Published 9:21 pm Monday, December 19, 2005

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Vigilant/Argus
Despite a line up that included eight freshmen, the Edwardsburg varsity wrestling team opened up Lakeland Conference action on Wednesday with a victory over the host Rangers.
Edwardsburg opened up a large lead midway through the match before the Rangers picked up steam at the end and closed the gap to 11 points.
Edwardsburg picked up the 45-34 win over arch rival Cassopolis to improve its season record to 3-4.
Cassopolis lost for just the second time this season and is now 6-2.
Edwardsburg rolled up a 28-point lead after winning eight of 11 bouts from 112-pounds to 189-pounds.
Cassopolis won the final three bouts (215, 275 and 103) to close the gap to 11 points.
Cassopolis is also a young squad with a new coach.
The Rangers had eight freshmen and a sophomore who has not wrestled before in the line up.
Joe Linton, the son of the late former Cass coach Steve Linton, said he was pleased with the effort.
Edwardsburg won four straight matches from 125-pounds to 140-pounds.
Winning for the Eddies were Tyler Kendle by forfeit, Andy Breslin by decision, Matt Peters by pin and Alex Hall by pin.
Edwardsburg also won back-to-back matches with Anthony Young at 171-pounds and Jim Fein at 189-pounds.
The Rangers finished the match with two pins and a technical fall from John Wirick at 215, Josh Turnbow at 275 and Jerry Bethea at 103.
Also winning for the Rangers were Thandy Noringhang (119), John McCoy (145) and Joey Sobieski (160).
The Eddies other wins came from Jordan Redman (112) and Tyler Schmitt (152).
103: Jerry Bethea (C) t.f. Josh Klozinski, 17-2
112: Jordan Redman (E) wins by forfeit
119: Thandy Noringhang (C) p. Richard Krassow, :47
125: Tyler Kendle (E) wins by forfeit
130: Andy Breslin (E) d. Cory Lowe, 12-10
135: Matt Peters (E) p. Steven Westphal, 2:32
140: Alex Hall (E) p. Joey Fortuna, 1:48
145: John McCoy (C) t.f. Ryan Ackers, 21-6
152: Tyler Schmitt (E) p. Jeffery Anderson, 1:05
160: Joey Sobieski (C) p. Chris Fritsche, 5:20
171: Anthony Young (E) p. Josh Westphal, 4:47
189: Jim Fein (E) p. Josh Deubner, :28
215: John Wirick (C) p. Joe White, 1:26
275: Josh Turnbow (C) p. Larry Sibley, 1:08