Ricky Carmichael doubles Hall of Famer Bob Hannah’s record

Published 8:24 am Tuesday, July 5, 2005

By Staff
BUCHANAN - Ricky Carmichael clearly stands alone in the annals of American motocross racing.
The 25-year-old American Motorcyclists Association (AMA) Motocross Champion won his fifth straight AMA 250 Motocross title race Sunday at Red Bud Track 'N Trail to remain unbeaten this year.
The victory was the 54th of his career in the series and doubles the 27 wins earned by Motorcycle Hall of Famer Bob Hannah, who stands second on the all-time wins list.
Carmichael's victory also marked the first Red Bud 250 National win for Suzuki in 27 years.
Carmichael was also recently nominated for Best Male Action Sports Athlete for the 2005 ESPY Awards.
Kevin Windham finished second on a Honda. It was his best result of the year. Red Bud fans went nuts when Windham got by Stewart in the second moto.
Kawasaki's James Stewart was third. He had a run in with Windham in the second moto that resulted in Windham going down.
When Windham chased him down is appeared to many that Stewart allowed Windham past in a laudable show of sportsmanship.
Chad Reed had a bad day. The chain came off his bike in the first moto and he finished fourth in the second for 10th overall. His worst result of the year. It also allowed Windham to move within two points of Reed in the standings.
Grant Langston, of South Africa, won the 125 class with a 1-2. It was Langston's third win of the year and moved him from fifth to third in the standings. Langston is now tied for 12th on the all-time AMA 125 Motocross wins list.
Langston suffered an ankle injury in the first round near Sacramento, Calif., in May.
Ryan Mills and Andrew Short took second and third overall respectively. It marked the first career podium finish for both riders and for Mills his second moto win was also a first.
AMA Motocross
Championship results
250cc National
1. Ricky Carmichael, Suzuki RMZ450.
2. Kevin Windham, Honda CRF450R.
3. James Stewart, Kawasaki KX250.
4. David Vuillemin, Yamaha YZ450F.
5. Ernesto Fonseca, Honda CR250R.
6. Nick Wey, Honda CRF450R.
7. Travis Preston, Honda CRF450R.
8. John Dowd, Suzuki RMZ450.
9. Michael Byrne, Kawasaki KX250.
10. Chad Reed, Yamaha YZ450F.
11. Jason Thomas, Honda CRF450R.
12. Jeff Dement, Suzuki RMZ450.
13. Justin Buckelew, Honda CRF450R.
14. Ryan Clark, Honda CRF450R.
15. Dylan Lord, Honda CRF450R.
16. Juss Laanoo, Honda CRF450R.
17. Robert Garrison, Honda CRF450R.
18. Clark Stiles, Suzuki RMZ450.
19. Matthew Barnes, KTM 450SX.
20. James Povolny, Suzuki RMZ450.
125cc National
1. Grant Langston, Kawasaki KX250F.
2. Ryan Mills, KTM 250SXF.
3. Andrew Short, Honda CRF250R.
4. Mike Alessi, KTM 250SXF.
5. Josh Grant, KTM 250SXF.
6. Ivan Tedesco, Kawasaki KX250F.
7. Michael Brown, Honda CRF250R.
8. Nathan Ramsey, KTM 250SXF.
9. Danny Smith, Yamaha YZ250F.
10. Matt Walker, Kawasaki KX250F.
11. Davi Millsaps, Suzuki RMZ250.
12. Kelly Smith, Yamaha YZ250F.
13. Broc Hepler, Suzuki RMZ250.
14. Thomas Hahn, Honda CRF250R.
15. Robert Kiniry, Honda CRF250R.
16. Billy Laninovich, Honda CRF250R.
17. Paul Carpenter, Kawasaki KX250F.
18. Jeff Alessi, KTM 250SXF.
19. Brock Sellards, Yamaha YZ250F.
20. Joshua Summey, Honda CRF250R.
250cc series standings (after five of 12 rounds)
1. Ricky Carmichael, 247.
2. Chad Reed, 178.
3. Kevin Windham, 176.
4. David Vuillemin, 148.
5. Ernesto Fonseca, 143.
125cc series standings (after five of 12 rounds)
1. Mike Brown, 193.
2. Ivan Tedesco, 169.
3. Grant Langston, 163.
4. Josh Grant, 158.
5. Mike Alessi, 157.