All-Region, All-Academic teams named

Published 5:58 am Friday, June 17, 2005

By By ERIKA PICKLES / Niles Daily Star
NILES - Nine local athletes have been named to the All-Region and All-Academic teams for the 2005 spring sports season.
Five Brandywine softball players have been selected to the Division 3 MHSSCA All-Region softball team for 2005.
Ashley Antus, Dee Echevarria and Amanda Grice, all recently graduated seniors, Kelli Zache, who will be entering her senior year next yeat and Kendra Zache, a sophomore next year, were all honored.
Antus played center field for the Lady Cats, Echevarria was a catcher, Grice played third base, Kelli Zache was the starting pitcher and Kendra Zache played first base.
Josh Atwood and Kory Bridges, both who recently graduated from Brandywine, were named to the 2005 MHSBCA All-Region team.
Bridges was a pitcher for the Bobcats and Atwood a catcher.
Recent Buchanan graduate Josh Wahlstrom and Brandywine's Matt Wieger, a junior next year have been named to the 2005 Area All-Region Academic team.
Wahlstrom played first base for the Bucks and Wieger was a shortstop for the Bobcats.
All-Region softball team
Ashley Antus, Brandywine; Anna Thorbjornsen, Bangor; Sammy Kimp, Hartford; Kourtney Marvin, Watervliet; Amanda Grice, Brandywine; Jamie Hartman, Watervliet; Dee Echevarria, Brandywine; Kelli Zache, Brandywine; Kendra Zache, Brandywine; Sarah Sheffler, Watervliet; Carly Fritz, Bloomingdale.
All-Region baseball
Eric Helton, Gobles; Keith Young, Perry; Josh Atwood, Brandywine; Phil Halamka, Watervliet; Matt Mosher, Schoolcraft; Billy Schneider, Lansing C.C.; Eric Odom, Watervliet; D.C. Coulier, Saranac; Brian, Kellogsville; Spencer Kennedy, Schoolcraft; Zack Morales, Olivet; Matt Seyoc, Lansing C.C.; Rocky Boswell, Berrien Springs; Brody White, Gobles; Jeremy Ford, Schoolcraft; Andy Ferraiulo, Perry; Matt Veltema, Grandville C.C.; Kory Bridges, Brandywine; Jesse Hernandez, Kellogsville; Brandon Hunt, Gobles; Quinn Watkins, River Valley; Kolby Wood, Berrien Springs.
Coaches of the Year: Aaron Hyska, Watervliet; Jake Boss, Lansing Catholic Center.
Area All-Region
Josh Wahlstrom, Buchanan; Robert Lantis, River Valley; Kevin Zabel, River Valley, Keith Zabel, River Valley; Jeremy Schaffer, River Valley; Donnie Maynard, Bridgman; Scott Snyder, Berrien Springs; Matt Wieger, Brandywine; Billy Holbert, Berrien Springs; Tim Wahmhoff, Gobles; Josh Dietrich, Gobles.