Bucks, ‘Rocks share tennis title

Published 2:29 pm Monday, May 23, 2005

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Vigilant/Argus
It hasn't been easy for the Buchanan tennis team this year, but the result was the same as it has been for the previous 12 years.
The Bucks captured a share of their 13th consecutive Lakeland Conference tennis championship on Friday afternoon in South Bend, Ind. at Leeper Park.
Buchanan and Berrien Springs shared the overall conference championship.
Buchanan had the better regular season record by going 5-0-1, tying with the Shamrocks. Berrien Springs was 4-0-2 in the regular season.
Berrien Springs won Friday's conference tournament with 49 points, edging out the Bucks who finished with 46 points.
Edwardsburg was third in the tournament with 42 points and third overall with a 3-1-2 record.
Bridgman, Brandywine, Coloma and Cassopolis round out the order of finish – both in the league tournament and the final standings.
1. Andrew Lewis (BS) d. Matt Horvath (E) 6-4, 6-1; 2. Harper Sulier (B) d. Brandon Musznski (E) 6-3, 6-1; 3. David Moscala (BS) d. Nate Hardness (E), 6-1, 6-1; 4. James Yoon (BS) d. Josh Marschke (E) 6-2, 6-3
1. Andrew Gordon/David Wright (B) d. Jim Rose/Josh Gordon (BS) 3-6, 6-0, 6-2; 2. Dillon Bailey/Andrew Scoggin (B) d. Joe Furner/Fred Born (BS) 6-4, 2-6, 6-3; 3. Caylin Boswell/Josh Bagby (BS) d. Brian Echevarria/Kyle Bankston (BW) 6-1, 6-2; 4. Tyler Kendle/Khris Merrill (E) d. Justin Lovelady/Taylor Oake (B) 1-6, 6-0, 7-5