Buchanan qualifies for state finals by winning regional title

Published 2:09 am Saturday, May 21, 2005

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Niles Daily Star
SOUTH BEND, Ind. - The Buchanan Bucks brushed aside a season of adversity Friday afternoon to capture yet another regional championship and advance to the state finals.
The Bucks, who had six players suspended earlier this year, scored 29 points to defeat Berrien Springs, which finished with 20 points.
The Bucks and Shamrocks shared the Lakeland Conference championship. Berrien Springs defeated Buchanan at the Lakeland Conference tournament a week ago.
Dowagiac finished third with 17 points, just missing qualifying as a team for the state finals which will be held at Michigan State University June 3-4.
Teams that score 18 or points automatically qualify for the finals.
Edwardsburg was fourth with 14 points and Bridgman fifth with eight points. Brandywine finished sixth with six points.
Rounding out the order of finish were Coloma (5), Eau Claire (2), Lake Michigan Catholic (2) and Cassopolis (1).
Buchanan earned flight championships at No, 2 singles with Harper Sulier and at No. 4 singles with Brad Burns.
Buchanan swept the doubles flights.
Winning were Andrew Gordon and David Wright, Dillon Bailey and Andrew Scoggin, Sean Thornton and Josh Niven, and Taylor Oake and Justin Lovelady.
Mario Bonardi finished second at No. 3 singles.
Brandywine's Brian Echevarria and Kyle Bankston finished second at No. 3 doubles.
Bender and Dowagiac coach Curtis Partee shared Regional Coach of the Year honors.
Team results
Buchanan 29, Berrien Springs 20, Dowagiac 17, Edwardsburg 14, Bridgman 8, Brandywine 6, Coloma 5, Eau Claire 2, Lake Michigan Catholic 2, Cassopolis 1
1. Andrew Lewis (BS) d. Matt Horvath (E) 6-0, 6-3; 2. Harper Sulier (B) d. Branden Muszynski (E) 7-5, 2-6, 7-5; 3. David Moskala (BS) d. mario Bonardi (B) 7-5, 6-1; 4. Brad Burns (B) d. James Yoon (BS) 6-3, 6-3
1. Andrew Gordon/David Wright (B) d. Jim Rose/Josh Gordon (BS) 6-3, 6-2; 2. Dillon Bailey/Andrew Scoggin (B) d. Jon Woolsey/Aaron Wilson (D) 6-4, 6-4; 3. Sean Thornton/Josh Niven (B) d. Brian Echevarria/Kyle Bankston (BW) 6-4, 6-2; 4. Taylor Oake/Justin Lovelady (B) d. Andrew Cuthbert/Tyler Cook (D) 6-3, 6-2.