McRoberts McDonald’s All-American Player of the Year

Published 7:43 pm Thursday, March 24, 2005

By Staff
OAK BROOK, Ill. - McDonald's welcomed a new addition to its 'menu' today, as Josh McRoberts of Carmel, Ind. won the 2005 Morgan Wootten Award honoring him as McDonald's All-American Player of the Year - an annual recognition given to the top student-athlete selected to participate in the McDonald's All American Game.
The Morgan Wootten award is given to the McDonald's All-American player who exemplifies outstanding character, exhibits leadership and embodies the values of being a student-athlete in both schoolwork and community service activities.
McDonald's established the National Player of the Year Award in Wootten's name to pay tribute to his unprecedented achievements as a teacher and a coach.
At 6-foot-10, McRoberts possesses the all-around game that coaches covet. He can handle the ball and shoot a jumper like a guard, but isn't afraid to use his size to go inside and hit the boards.
McRoberts led his high school in scoring and rebounding this season, averaging 17.9 points to go along with 11.4 rebounds and 4 assists per game. Injured much of his junior season, the long lefty has come on strong to lead the Carmel High Greyhounds to a 21-4 record. He grabbed 1,264 points, 759 rebounds, 255 assists, and 259 blocks during his Carmel career. McRoberts will join the Duke Blue Devils next fall.
Besides being an all-around talent on the court, McRoberts also makes time for school and the community.
As a member of the Student Athletic Board, Josh mentors elementary and middle school students in conjunction with the NCAA Stay in Bounds Ambassador Program, using his enormous popularity in Central Indiana to be a good role model to many young students. McRoberts also maintains a 3.09 G.P.A. with his busy high school schedule.
McRoberts is the fourth Morgan Wootten Award recipient to attend Duke. Former Blue Devils Shane Battier ('97), Jay Williams ('99) and Chris Duhon ('00) were named McDonald's National Player of the Year. Other winners include, Dwight Howard, Orlando Magic ('04); LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers ('03); Aaron Miles, Kansas ('02); Torin Francis, Notre Dame ('01) and Ronald Curry, North Carolina ('98).
During Wootten's 43-year career as head basketball coach at DeMatha High School in Hyattsville, Md., he earned a reputation for being both an excellent basketball coach and mentor.
In addition to his five national high school championship titles and thirty-three conference championships, Wootten had the unique distinction of having every DeMatha senior player receive a four-year college scholarship for the past 30 years.